We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreliable....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gordon Biersch

Gordon Biersch
200 East Middle Lane, Rockville, MD 20850
301-340-7159
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 331 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Unreliable....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have had varying experiences over many samplings here over the years, especially with regard to service and overall quality of food. The menu is nice and diverse, like at all GBs, but the execution is not always reliably there. The Rockville location got competition in the brew pub arena recently by American Tap Room down the street, which led the place to up their game again. When the restaurant and bar are full, the place is extremely noisy. Burgers are reliably good, garlic fries are great when they are fresh - sometimes they come soggy. The seasonal menus are nice, especially the fall ones that have a bavarian style Octoberfest theme. For a brewpub the place is not cheap,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    37
    23
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hang out place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a loud and causal place to be at any day. Every time i go there I have a good time. You can go on a date, with your friends or family. Its all good! Great value, great food, and a nice cold beer is even better!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good beer, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a chain restaurant that doesn't feel like a chain. The beer is the star, and the food isn't very far behind. We had three different brews and entrees, and all three were very good, and well described on the menu. Staff was very good. Only issue at this location was a lack of air conditioning. While there is an outside dining area, the heat inside the dining area was annoying.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Liquid Lunch, the wrong way”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a business lunch with some
Colleagues after hearing how good it was.

Would have enjoyed it more if it weren't for my waiter dumping an entire glass of water on me. No one offered an apology until the check came. Then the manager came over. Was it sincere concern or just wanted to avoid a
Comp meal and complaint. I always learned in the restaurant business you act fast to show you truly care.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“More than Beer, Gluten Free Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We usually avoid tap rooms and the like like the plague, because of my wife's Celiac's Disease. But here is a quality beer-based restaurant that not only knows about and explains gluten-free options, but is willing to work with you. I had a seafood cobb salad that was very fresh and good. My GF wife stuck to side dishes, including some tasty garlic potatoes and perfectly cooked steamed vegetables. I thought the wine was over-priced, especially by the glass. But my drink was reasonably priced and made exactly the way I wanted it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon Biersch also viewed

 

Been to Gordon Biersch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordon Biersch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.