We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downscale Sheraton -- poor night's stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Rockville Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Rockville Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Rockville Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   920 King Farm Blvd, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Rockville
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Downscale Sheraton -- poor night's stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My colleague and I chose the Sheraton Rockville because of the price--$159 plus tax pre-paid in full, compared to around $250 for other local hotels. It was a poor experience.

1. I arrived at 10:30 pm and was given the keys to a room on the Club Level (5th floor) which was nice and unexpected. But the room was used--bed not made, towels everywhere, garbage lying around. Down I went to the front desk where the friendly young woman told me they were sold out and I'd have to wait for housekeeping to make the room. I refused because of the late hour so she found me another room and, only when I asked, gave me a coupon for a free breakfast.

2. The 2 elevators arrive slowly during the busy early morning. They seem to be used by service staff too as 2 housekeepers emerged with a rolling laundry cart.

3. The breakfast situation was a fiasco. Small breakfast area. Tables uncleared. Short staffed. One of our party got a menu--2 didn't. Finally, management stepped in to help. Very generous portions.

In the hotel's favor, the staff is all very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRockville, General Manager at Sheraton Rockville Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear MelsmomNewJersey,

I would like to apologize for the inconveniences regarding your last stay. If you have any opportunity, would you please give the hotel a call regarding the issues you experienced?

I hope your Thanksgiving was a great one and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best wishes,

Stacy Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    67
    30
    13
    11
See reviews for
42
34
24
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here for business. The hotel is 1 mile from a Metro station and has a free shuttle to anywhere within 3 miles of the hotel. It takes about 20-25 minutes to get into Washington DC on the Metro. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are larger with down bedding, flat screen tv and a blow dryer. Showtime is free on the tv. There is a bar and one restaurant with reasonable prices, but the menu was limited for dinner. The breakfast menu was better and has a buffet if you are in a hurry. There are also complimentary WSJ newspapers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRockville, General Manager at Sheraton Rockville Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Good afternoon,

Happy Holidays. I would like to thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to provide feedback. I look forward to you returning and making Sheraton your home away from home.

Stacy Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I spend several nights a week, every week in different hotels. I continue to be impressed with the level of professional courtesy and support I receive at the Rockville Sheraton each and every time.
Brand new staff members, third shift employees as I walk to the exercise room, Victor and the room service staff - all of them really setting the bar for how you should be treated when you travel.
Kudo's to the management at the Rockville Sheraton, your team is doing a great job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRockville, General Manager at Sheraton Rockville Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Steve,

Thank you for choosing the Rockville Sheraton. I am extremely delighted to have gained your loyalty. I am the new GM and I would like to say hi your next visit? If you don't return before the new year, I wish you the best holiday season and will see you soon or next year.

Stacy Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here for one night in November 2012 on business. My mom was with me so we had a room with two double beds and we both loved it. The bathroom was very clean, nice white tile, nice vanity area. The room had the largest desk I've ever seen in a hotel room, it literally went almost the entire width of the room. There was a large flat screen TV and a nice leather chair. There wasn't a closet but the room had a nice wood armoire to hang clothes in.

There was a nice bar area behind the lobby and there were signs up about wine tastings and other social events for guests.

The area is very new and there were lots of great restaurants nearby on Rockville Pike. It was roughly 30 minutes to downtown DC.

The other hotels in that area were close to $200. I thought this hotel was great for $149.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRockville, General Manager at Sheraton Rockville Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Jenny,

Thank you so much for your stay. We ar delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes and Happy Holidays!

Stacy Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked 50 rooms for 3 nights in February for a local sporting event, and our organization was to receive a nominal rebate from the Sheraton Rockville. It's been over 8 months and we have yet to be paid. I have been given the run around over a measly $1300. I am a long term SPG member and we book their hotels all over North America. I am very disappointed that the property in my hometown is run by such unprofessional people.

I'm sure the rooms are nice, but for the price you are paying, I would suggest one of the Marriott properties in the RIO center a couple of miles away. Also, there will be a new hotel right in downtown Rockville opening within the year, so keep an eye out for that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRockville, General Manager at Sheraton Rockville Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. As you and I have discussed in September, we needed and invoice and w9.. If you state that you have submitted over and over it wouldn't have taken you over a week to provide an invoice that should have been generated already. I am the new GM and I cannot say what happened or didn't happen. But I was clear with what documentation I needed. Thank you for eventually providing and your invoice has been submitted.

Our hotel is a great place to stay, with a great staff. Please come see for yourself and you will not be disappointed.

best wishes,

Stacy Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hurricane Sandy flooded my apartment and I had to find a place to stay fast! I live virtually right next door to this hotel and I'm a Starwoods member, so I thought why not?

First of all, they offered me a great rate in lieu of the flooding and said I could stay as long as I need to at that rate.

Check in was smooth and easy, the room is spacious, comfortable and very clean. The restaurant is pretty good for a hotel.

I'd highly recommend this hotel to someone wanting to come to see Washington DC. You're about a 45-minute metro ride from downtown, but you'll save a lot of $$ over downtown hotels and that should make up for it. Plus you can park your car here for free, which saves you anywhere from $25-$40 a night right there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRockville, General Manager at Sheraton Rockville Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Gina,

Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to seeing you again. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to let us know.

Best wishes,

Stacy Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here overnight and was impressed with the room and service. Check in was a breeze, room was very clean, spacious, and comfortable. Dined in their restaurant for dinner and breakfast and were pleased with both meals. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRockville, General Manager at Sheraton Rockville Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear MS1024,


Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to provide your comments regarding your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Wishes,

Stacy Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Rockville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Rockville Hotel

Address: 920 King Farm Blvd, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Rockville Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Rockville Hotel is part of the beautiful planned development of King Farm, surrounded by lovely bike and walking paths and minutes from the area's restaurants, boutiques & coffee shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Rockville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Rockville
Rockville Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Rockville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.