We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy and kind of Creepy.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Rockville Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Rockville Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sheraton Rockville Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   920 King Farm Blvd, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Rockville
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lousy and kind of Creepy.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

I stay in hotels every night of every business week, primarily in Starwood branded hotels. This hotel smells, the staff is strange (absent for ten minutes, overattentive and annoying for five minutes), there were bugs in my room and strangest of all... the room air conditioners are built in the desks which means that your computer winds up being on a freezing surface directly exposed to extreme cold... what a weird place for the AC. You can hear the highway from the room and other than that highway, theres nothing nearby. I stay in hotels every night and never write reviews, this time I had to. If you can afford to stay somewhere nicer; if you cant, stay at a youth hostel.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    60
    27
    11
    10
See reviews for
37
30
23
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2007

Just stayed here for a week in May while touring DC and area. I wanted a nice hotel, but didn't want to stay in DC and pay 200 a night. This hotel is located at the north end of Rockville on the Shady Grove exit off of I270. It's located at the end of Kings Farm Blvd, next to I270, you can see it from the Shady Grove exit. It's 6 months old and naturally in excellent condition. It's located 1.5 miles from the Metro, and they run a shuttle van to take you to the station if you need. It takes 45 mins on the Metro to get to Smithsonian stop in DC. We did not try their restaurant, there are many good eatery's in the area. I recommend Mama Lucia's if you like Italian. Its 3 miles away. There are restaurants and a supermarket 1 mile away, an easy walk.

They have a really nice fitness room, the ellipticals have TV's on them! The people tried hard to be helpful, and our stay was very pleasant. No problems with noise at night while sleeping, although hotel only looked half full during our stay.

If you are touring more than just DC, Gettyburg is less than 1 hours drive away.

All in all, a nice place to stay, I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — clothes washer broke down..
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for one night in April 2007. The hotel is new and quite nice. I was upgraded to the club floor. I did not eat the hotel restaurant.

My stay was comfortable but I found that the rooms seemed rather small. You wouldn't want to stay here with a family as I don't think there would be room for a cot. The desk is overtop of the air conditioning unit and while doing work I bumped my knee a couple of times, so if you have long legs beware. The bathroom was nice but the king rooms only have showers. This wasn't a problem for me but while I was checking in there was a couple ahead of me trying to get moved to a double room which apparently have bathtubs.

The club lounge was small and right when you get off the elevator on the club floor. On the day I was there it wasn't very well stocked either in the evening or the next morning.

The hotel is in a new development which I'm sure has lots of potential. However at this point there is nothing around the hotel except for construction sites.

Overall, it was a nice hotel and I would stay again but only for business travel, not for leisure travel.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

We stayed at this hotel because it was close to the D.C. metro area and was a new hotel where we could use our Star Reward Points. The hotel staff were very friendly however, they were not very knowledgeable. They could not seem to explain our billing nor could they answer any questions regarding the D.C. area. The maid service was poor! The first night we stayed there they did not supply us with shampoo. The next day we ran out of toilet paper and had to ask for it! On our last night we came back to our room and there were NO towels, no coffee, no soap! It looked as though the maid had only made the bed. The bathroom vanity was never cleaned. The room is nice but rather small in size. It has a nice desk area for those traveling on business. The metro shuttle service was a disaster the last night we were there. We called them (as they suggested) while still in transit. The hotel clerk told me that the shuttle was already on its way and she would call him to ask to wait for us. When we arrived there was no shuttle. We waited 10 minutes and called and they said they would come and pick us up. Fifteen minutes later, no shuttle. We called again, and the shuttle service was still at the hotel. He finally came after we had waited a half an hour. When I had talked with a hotel staff prior to our stay I asked how long the metro ride would be to the D.C. mall area. She said, "about 20 minutes." Wrong! Plan on being on the metro longer than that. Also, they do have 1 vending washing machine and 1 vending dryer on the 3rd floor. I wouldn't plan on doing my laundry because not only do people hog up the machines, but the hotel is selling soap that is not supposed to be used for an energy efficient washing machine. The dryer only runs for a half an hour so you have to run it twice just to get your clothes dry.

  • Liked — Newer hotel
  • Disliked — Maid service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

This is a really nice, new hotel. Friendly and helpful staff, large room, very large desk area, flat screen television, adjacent to a residential area where its easy to run, free shuttle service. My experience was different from the previous reviewer regarding breakfast service -- I had in-room omelets with sundried tomatoes on side that were very good, and ready within 10-15 minutes two days in a row. I really liked staying here, and would stay here again. Only possible downside: the hotel is so new that you have to make sure that the room doors close completely behind you because the door mechanisms are stiff. But its easy enough to push a door shut once you realize what the deal is :-)

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

Very poor breakfast service. Nice hotel though, new and clean.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2007

I usually stay at the relatively new Marriott Bethesda North which is close to my client in Rockville. Nice hotel but really overpriced. Tried the new Sheraton and was impressed. I'm not usually a Sheraton fan and was impressed with the room decor although room was on the small side, very spacious desk/work area, high speed connection, and very comfortable bed/bedding - very much like the Westin bed. All employees were helpful and courteous. Room service was extremely prompt and food very good. Great, large, flat screen TV mounted on the wall. My only complaint was the sound of the heating system. Was loud enough that when the fan kicked on, the TV volume had to be turned up.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Rockville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Rockville Hotel

Also Known As:
Sheraton Rockville
Rockville Sheraton
Address: 920 King Farm Blvd, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Rockville Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Rockville Hotel is part of the beautiful planned development of King Farm, surrounded by lovely bike and walking paths and minutes from the area's restaurants, boutiques & coffee shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Rockville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Rockville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.