We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Repeat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mosaic

Mosaic
186 Halpine Rd, Rockville, MD 20852
301 468 0682
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 356 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Must Repeat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I am still thinking about every delightful dish that our party of 4 shared: two appetizers, soup, 4 entrees and the flourless chocolate waffle. The portions are generous but there were scant leftovers for the next day. Too bad because they were still awesome. Loved the menu and can't say enough about the food. Gotta get back asap.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    43
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Waffles in Place of Bread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I'd heard Carla Hall rave about this place on The View, so thought I had to give it a try when I was nearby. I ordered a sandwich (on waffles, of course) and the grilled veggie salad (with a waffle "crouton"). Both very tasty. The wait staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. Will have to go back to try this place for breakfast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place for a sunday family breakfast with Waffles and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Snuggled in between the newly built residential apartments, and within the immediate vicinity of shopping indulgences, Mosaic is a family owned restaurant that specializes in warmth and hospitality, and great breakfast options. With Waffles as their main breakfast fare, there are various selections of toppings, and side orders to meet an assortments of palettes.
Charming, cosy and good cuisine at very affordable prices. Avg price range between $9 - 13 per person...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Waffle sandwiches--God bless America”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

DH and I came here for dinner on a Friday night--it was busy, but we were seated immediately. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. I had the Mosaic salad with grilled chicken (so I didn't feel guilty about getting dessert later!), and DH had the chicken salad waffle sandwich with grapes and pecans, which was served with sweet potato fries. Both meals were very tasty. Since I'm gluten-intolerant, I had the flourless chocolate waffle with hot fudge sauce and vanilla ice cream for dessert. It was wonderful! DH had the nutella dessert waffle, which he said was excellent.

The atmosphere is casual but elegant, and it has a good vibe--no pretension here. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Saw a feature on WETA about great breakfasts in the metro and wanted to check out their amazing light waffles. They did not disappoint-- we've been back many times since then. All of the breakfast items are delicious and very reasonably priced. The only thing is that the restaurant is small and gets packed. On weekends, the smart people make reservations. if you don't, we prepared to wait at least 30 minutes. It's very much worth it, but not fun if you hadn't anticipated the wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosaic also viewed

 

Been to Mosaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mosaic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.