We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Generous Portions, Reasonably Priced, Worth the Wait” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amalfi Ristorante

Amalfi Ristorante
12307 Wilkins Avenue, Rockville, MD 20852
301.770.7888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Amalfi Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 342 restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Parklawn Drive
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Good Food, Generous Portions, Reasonably Priced, Worth the Wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our party of 8 family members (in laws and out laws) met at Amalfi for a Wednesday night
pre thanksgiving meal. Though it took close to an hour to be served the main course (there was a large group prior to our being seated and it took time to roast the whole fish), it was worth the wait. We survived our wait devouring the excellent garlic & cheese white pizza, the crusted bread, and enjoying the company of others.

With bronzino (a European seabass), eggplant parmesan, veal parmesan, salmon, clams with linguini, and prosciutto, everyone finished everything on their plate. I was reminded that we have been eating here for more than 30 thirty years! And this fact that my DC family eats here and continues to eat here, is in itself is a recommendation!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    26
    12
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland Heights, Missouri
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Get out your Itilian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is my private restaurant from Italy. Ill be sad when there starts to be a wait here. The staff is second generation owners and yes Italian. This is the best Italian in Rockville with out a doubt. It reminds me of the place from lady and the tramp being classic and real. Snuggle up to the tales and the specials are great. Just got this in this morning kind of stuff. Try the eggplant. The fried calamari will ruin you for anywhere else's calamari. Its better no where else. seriously. Priced right for the dining experience. I wanted to tip one hundred percent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really Bad Italian Food! Over Priced, Poor Quality!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I read the majority of decent reviews on this site, regarding Amalfi's . I only found 2 reviews that were recent and negative! The bad reviews are Justified! Our waiter was nice and the only good part of our experience! What was Wrong? Everything!! I ordered Lasagna, the lasagna had no seasoning in it, the sauce was not close to tasty with absence of seasoning. My GF ordered Egg Plant Parm. Again, NO seasoning, the cook was too lazy to peel the egg plant too. The food had little tomato sauce on either dish, and what was on the food was not tasty at all! Don't waste your Money on this restaurant because you can get a better meal in a Can and save alot of Money!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It has been a few years, will be back sooner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have not been there in a few years and this was a quite night for the restaurant. The food was good, served quickly,the waiter a little slow. In general a good dinner. Have been there years ago with a large group and things are handled very well even with a roudy crowd.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Really fine local Italian restraurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had not been to Amalifi's for years and decided to try it again, and we will be back soon. The food was excellent. Every dish we ordered was well prepared with fresh ingredients and very tasty. Service was excellent and there is a nice, and reasonably priced, wine selection. Deserts were really outstanding. Our server, John (also a member of the family that owns the place) was very willing to change dishes to meet our requests, and he was very responsive when we told him that one of our people had a particular food allergy.

The only minor "negative" is that the chairs are not at all comfortable, particularly for someone like me with a bad back. But that will not keep us from looking forward to our next visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amalfi Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Amalfi Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalfi Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.