We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average Asian food at high prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taipei Tokyo 3

Taipei Tokyo 3
14921 Shady Grove Rd, Falls Grove Village Center, Rockville, MD 20850
301 738 8813
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 349 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Above average Asian food at high prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were delighted when they opened up shop so close to our house. The food is good and they have an expansive menu. But once they were settled, I found that every time I went to pick up my take-out, the cost was higher than the menu stated. "You have the old menu." That happened three times within a year, then once the seafood dishes hit $18-$22, I found other alternatives. It's a nice little place, but feeding four of us was pushing $70 - too high for a weekly option.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

rude staff who don't seem to care what your order and whether you order or now

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good for Sushi and Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a regular stop for us... we get sushi rolls and a couple of Chinese dishes and everyone is happy. Food is real fresh and service is speedy. No fresh brewed ice tea though. Also, prices trend on the high side for Chinese.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Good food, quick service, lots of choices. We like their sushi as well as their Chinese dishes. This location is nicer than their other ones in the area - more of a sit down restaurant than an order at the counter kind of place. My kids love their noodle dishes. They also have a good value lunch menu.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food but a Bit Expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is an excellent place to go with your wife or girlfriend, but not the kids. The food is high end and not the kind of thing kids are going to get into. So if you want a date night and can find a babysitter, this is a special place to go. Just be aware, that you get what you pay for or said differently, you pay for what you get. Since this is very good food, you can expect to pay about double what you might pay at a large chain restaurant. So if you want a little Japanese food tonight, this place should be high on your list to try out. You will find yourself coming back again and again.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taipei Tokyo 3 also viewed

 

Been to Taipei Tokyo 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taipei Tokyo 3, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.