We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food but a Bit Expensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taipei Tokyo 3

Taipei Tokyo 3
14921 Shady Grove Rd, Falls Grove Village Center, Rockville, MD 20850
301 738 8813
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 342 restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food but a Bit Expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is an excellent place to go with your wife or girlfriend, but not the kids. The food is high end and not the kind of thing kids are going to get into. So if you want a date night and can find a babysitter, this is a special place to go. Just be aware, that you get what you pay for or said differently, you pay for what you get. Since this is very good food, you can expect to pay about double what you might pay at a large chain restaurant. So if you want a little Japanese food tonight, this place should be high on your list to try out. You will find yourself coming back again and again.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    8
    12
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good food, great price, plenty for leftovers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The lunch buffet (mon to Fri) had about 10 entrees served cafeteria style. The lunch comes with rice or noodles, 2 entree portions and soup. The food is fresh and delicious and the tables clean and inviting. I had orange chicken and spicy green beans, both excellent. The beans were still crispy and the sauce was good. We have been here many times and have always found it good. My usual dish is crispy chicken. Yum!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmname
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“They always forget the rice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Eating in at this restaurant is always pleasant. However when we order takeout they always forget to include the rice!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011 via mobile

We found this place in our local mall- and were thrilled to find such a high standard, and great sushi, right on our doorstep.
They deliver too!
The only downside is the water filling is a little over the top- non stop in fact, and it makes you feel a little rushed....But we still love it

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We really like this restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

in and around the area we live there are very few really good sushi restaurants. If we want sushi - this is our favorite place. it has a robust sushi menu as well as chinese (great for kids who won't eat sushi)

service is prompt and helpful. I have ordered often for take out for parties and oter things and they hae alwyas been helpful and reasonable.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taipei Tokyo 3 also viewed

 
Rockville, MD
Rockville, MD
 

Been to Taipei Tokyo 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taipei Tokyo 3, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.