We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food for the price you pay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Patio

El Patio
5240 Randolph Rd., Rockville, MD 20852
301-231-9225
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 342 restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Parklawn Dr.
Transit: 28436, 28618, 15342, 15338. Ride on: 10 Metro: C4, C8, J5 closest metro station is Twinbrook
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food for the price you pay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

For just $ 8.00 I had a delicious squash soup and a sausage sandwich!
And such big portions!
I also bought some empanadas to go for $1.70 each.
The place is simple but clean and welcoming, with an attractive pastry coroner.
Very good for an informal meal, but the quality of the food is excellent, and the staff is great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    21
    11
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Va
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“A wonderful Argentine evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Location isnt great coming from the DC/Northern VA area, but made the trek for an authentic experience. Expectations were definitely met. Ambiance was good with some live Latin music playing, although a bit sterile. The food was outstanding. The chorizo here is some of the best I've had. The meat here was tasty and fresh. I ordered the mixed meat platter which had some unique offerings. All delicious and an incredible amount of food. Among the meat products in the platter was some blood sausage which was incredible. Dessert was traditional delicious. According to my lovely date from Argentina, the place was authentic. Wine was super reasonably priced here so get ready for a wonderful experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“El Patio's Restaurant, Rockville, MD 8/06/12”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

What an amazing restaurant! this is the 2nd time I have been here in 2 weeks. The first time was for dinner (with a date) and the second time was for lunch with my family. Both times the service was EXCELLENT and both times the food was AMAZING! the ambiance was very casual so you don't have to dress up to be there. The 2nd time I went, we had the most beautiful waitress! Just a little more to add to our experience. I recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone. You get plenty of food for the price and great service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Argentine Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I lived in Buenos Aires for 4 years and this food was as good as anything I had there. We ordered several different types of empanadas and "sandwiches de miga" and they were all excellent. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had been there before and we will definitely go again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Just like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have been in America for long enough to feel homesick.I 'm from Argentina and Argentinians have their strong culture.When I went to EL Patio I felt like home again. I could not believe it! I will recommend this place because is unique.I was sick and tired of going to the american restaurants all the time.Now I am going to try to find some time extra to go to El Patio instead.The owners were so welcoming and friendly , you wont believe!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Patio also viewed

 
Rockville, MD
Rockville, MD
 

Been to El Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Patio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.