We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good variety, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Mariachi

El Mariachi
Ritchie Center, 765 Rockville Pike, Ste. C (Edmonston Dr.), Rockville, MD 20852
301-738-7177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 347 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good variety, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I visited El Mariachi on a weekday for lunch with friends. I had been there before many years ago with a large group, but this time there were only three of us. It was not busy, possibly due to the fact that the number of lunch places in the area has grown exponentially. Maybe because of the relatively quiet afternoon, our server was most helpful as one of my companions was wheelchair bound, requiring some accommodation, and the other had various dietary requests. I would have been happy to have just sat there enjoying bottomless fresh baked nachos, salsa and sangria, but ordered the lomo saltado, and my companions the masitas de puerco and the pescado veracruzana {rainbow trout]. We were all most pleased with our choices, but as the menu seemed quite extensive, there were many other items I would have loved to have tried as well. Perhaps another time! White tablecloths and napkins, and nice presentation, gave it a more formal touch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great casual TexMex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a local favorite for Hispanic style food. The owners are very friendly and helpful with large parties or special occasions. The food is very reliable and they have a good variety. Good sangria and margaritas as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Classy take on Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We've been going here 3-4x a year for at least 15 years. The menu hasn't changed much if at all, but why should it - we like the tasty well-appointed food, good house wines, and friendly service. Portions tend to be large - but there's always tomorrow!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistently fantastic and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A wonderful place! Shrimp and steak fajitas, seafood with a Peruvian sauce/seasoning perfectly cooked, fabulous fresh beans/rice, and the best guacamola on the planet. Superb service with a smile. Tres Leches cake to die for, best chocolate mousse in town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
1 review
“We Can't stay Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My Wife and I have been dining here for about 12 Years now while we where dating and now with our 3 children. Has always been warm and inviting; the owner Poncho always a gentlemen and my kids are crazy about him. Most importantly the food is fresh and good tasting. We haven't had a bad meal there once & has always been consistent in which we feel is the testament to the commitment and hard work of ownership to keep in high standards the quality of their cuisine day after day. 9 out of every ten dinners we have in Rockville center are in El Mariachi. We love Mexican and really enjoy this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mariachi also viewed

 

Been to El Mariachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mariachi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.