We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ Consistently” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Chapman Ave

Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Chapman Ave
2007 Chapman Ave., Rockville, MD 20852 (Formerly Urban Bar-B-Cue Company)
240-290-4827
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 349 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great BBQ Consistently”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

I just love this place. Small, rustic, reasonable & GREAT food. I'm never disappointed by UBQ. Try the pulled pork or brisket. The staff is fun & the food NEVER disappoints. Just off Rockville Pike near Twinbrook.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Met Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

I have been to Urban Bar-B-Que several times and I will go back again. In my opinion, it is not amazing, but for a quick lunch with co-workers it gets the job done. The lunch meal is reasonable (not expensive, but not cheap either) and includes a drink. I have had several of the sandwiches and they are all good, good flavor, and cooked well. There is minimal seating inside and I don't think there was any seating outside, so I'm not sure how it would be at a busy time. The service is quick for receiving the food and you clean up yourself. There are several people who I know that rave about this place, I have enjoyed it several times, but I do not seek it out if I'm not in the neighborhood.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, md
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Husband loves the brisket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband loves their brisket and says that it is the best to be found within a few miles of our house. They do a great job catering as well.
Not surprising, but there is really not much for a vegetarian- so go to enjoy the company and atmosphere and eat their great potato salad or mac and cheese!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Barbeque But”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stopped by after seeing it on Google Maps. I had the pulled pork sandwich, fries and baked beans. Pulled pork was very good and the baked beans had nice pieces of meat (beef? because it didn't taste porky). Fries were too cooked. Disappointed with the size of the place (small) and thought it was over priced for the amount of food but since it's hard to find decent barbeque I would probably return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The brisket and the even the sweet tea tasted like I was home in Texas. Not in a restaurant but home. I'm so impressed. Not sure what they were doing with the potato salad but the other two took me back miles and years.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Chapman Ave also viewed

 

Been to Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Chapman Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Bar-B-Que Restaurant & Catering- Chapman Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.