We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good DC area hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5701 Marinelli Road, Rockville, MD 20852   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good DC area hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Nice hotel. It is outside of DC enough to avoid major congestion with a metro stop right across. The hotel lobby was very neat and comfortable. The room was clean, neat, and newly furnished. We visited the bar and had a very good time. We had the breakfast buffet in the morning it was just OK. High priced as is the norm for hotel food and average taste.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    155
    36
    13
    18
See reviews for
62
41
38
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This hotel is a very nice hotel with a great location. The hotel is very close to Metro station and close to nice restaurants, grocery store, and pharmacies. The room was clean and comfortable. The wifi was working fine. Staff was very courteous and friendly. The check out process was very efficient.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We had a minor issue with the original room. Management apologized profusely and promptly moved us to a different room. We understand that things happen, and management response was quite appropriate, which gives us confidence in recommending this property and returning for future stays.

This is a very nice Marriott in a great location. The hotel is adjacent to the White Flint Metro station, and there is a protected underground walkway so that you don't need to cross Rockville Pike. The convenient Metro access is one of the best features of this property.

Rooms are standard Marriott décor and the Marriott bed is quite comfortable. Our replacement room was clean, fresh smelling and comfortable. Staff was friendly and professional. The check-out process was efficient.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This time is my second visit on business to this hotel. A couple of tips, the taxi driver could not find the hotel (Marinelli, Road) on his GPS, so the trick is to search under North Bethesda which is separate from Bethesda. I do not know if you put Rockville into the GPS, if that will work as well.

Everything was fine this time. The breakfast buffet looked really good, but I do not eat much for breakfast. Parking is a hassle for visitors. When the gate is up you can park for free. My ride came to pick me up, but when he parked the gate was up. But when it was time to leave, the gate was down and he had to pay $10. It is a bit annoying and the hotel should provide some free guest parking.

The wifi worked fine and I was able to hook both my phone and laptop up. You may wish to join the Marriott hotel rewards, because one of the perks is free internet access, which in my opinion should be free at all hotels. The login procedure still requires a last name and room number, which is better than using some esoteric password.

The hotel is next to the white flint metro station, red line. The hotel map shows the metro station being about half a mile away, but it is more like 500 feet from the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The Lobby is new and updated but the rooms need severe update I was upgraded to the concierge level and the rooms and amenities were below average. The carpets were old and on the weekends I had to ask the front desk several times before the room was cleaned

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBasile, Director of Operations at Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We are sorry you were unhappy with your accommodations. We are due for a rooms upgrade soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have stayed at this location a few times over the past few years, but this month August 2014 have had the opportunity to stay three weeks in a row.
Service is great and always with a smile. I was on the 10th floor each time which also houses the Concierge Lounge.
The room was well laid out and functional with lots of electrical outlets in the room -- always a nice feature these days as lots of folks travel with multiple plug-needing devices!

I have to give special kudos to the concierge lounge as they had an excellent spread of appetizers and breakfast items. Far better than continental or cheese & crackers in many places.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We arrived after a ridiculously long 6 +1/2 hr journey from Westchester County NY; a trip that should take 3 1/2 to 4 hours at most. Tired and hungry, we were not happy with the half hour wait that we had to check in, as the only people waiting on the Elite line. We expressed our annoyance to the manager on duty who had come out to help customers check in after our long wait. From that point on, all was wonderful. The manager was so apologetic. Instead of the one level upgrade that our Platinum status offers, we were offered a two level upgrade to a Junior suite with parking included. Instead of the usual Continental breakfast, we were offered a full buffet breakfast for two of the mornings of our stay in which the Concierge Suite was not open.

The staff at the hotel is amazingly friendly. Every door is opened and held, one is greeted at every departure and return. One evening we returned late and we were so hungry. The snack/gift shop was closed, so the front desk gave us two snack bags to get us through the night! Now that is service!
The only constructive criticism that I can make concerning the room is to add light to the bathroom, as it is impossible to use the mirror without sufficient light, and to think of the female guests and to please add a magnified MAKE-UP Mirror:)
The purpose of our stay was to visit with family, so we will be back, and when we return, it will be to The Bethesda North Marriott, for sure!

Room Tip: Junior Suite on any floor is lovely! (Ladies bring your own make-up mirror!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 5701 Marinelli Road, Rockville, MD 20852
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rockville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iscover the comforts of one of the premier hotels in Bethesda, MD with a stay at the prominent Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center. Stylish guest rooms, a Concierge level and 50,000 square feet of high-tech event space welcome both business and leisure travelers with everything needed for a remarkable hotel experience. Conveniently located near the White Flint Metro Station, guests enjoy easy access to downtown Bethesda, Rockville, Washington, D.C. And northern Virginia attractions. Featuring an expansive ballroom, 120-seat amphitheater, innovative catering and lavish amenities, our hotel's conference center is ideal for hosting inspirational Bethesda, MD events. Well-furnished rooms pamper guests with luxurious bedding ensembles, high-speed Internet access and plug-in panels for easy connectivity, while tantalizing on-site dining, 24-hour guest privileges to the hotel's fitness center and a heated indoor pool add comfort and convenience for a relaxed and productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Marriott Bethesda North
Marriott Hotel Rockville
Marriott Rockville
Rockville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.