We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business meeting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5701 Marinelli Road, Rockville, MD 20852   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cherry Blossom Package
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great for business meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I attended a scientific meeting over 2 days in this hotel and stayed one night. This Mariott makes me want to stay at more and ditch my Hilton Honors program. I stayed in a room that had access to the concierge lounge and the free breakfast was as good as some paid buffet breakfasts. The best part of this hotel is that every staff person you talk to were genuinely friendly and willing to go out of their way to help in any way possible. My company got a hospitality suite that was on the 1st floor that was perfect for a business meeting/ evening reception.
Location notes- accessible to the White Flint metro without crossing a street- the tunnel comes up in the hotel parking lot. McDonalds close. I did not have a chance to run, but I heard the hotel was across the street from a long jogging trail- accessible behind McDonalds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    119
    26
    11
    11
See reviews for
47
28
31
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

For supposedly being a nicer hotel there was a lot about this hotel that was not nice at all. For starters when we tried to check in we were told that there was no reservation in our name. It turned out that they had spelled our name wrong, and they were not too pleasant while we worked to fix the error. Upon checking out we discovered that the first name was still spelled wrong even after the hassle at check-in.

There aren't very many extras at this hotel. Our room did not have a fridge. You have to pay to use wireless. We were asked if we would be parking on site, but we were not told that we would be charged to use the parking lot. We would have used it anyway, but they could have been more upfront about the situation.

Our room was clean and pleasant enough, but upon visiting another guest's room, we discovered they had really ugly, old carpeting and fairly shabby decor. The beds in both rooms were not very comfortable and the pillows were awkward sizes and shapes.

The high point was probably the bathroom. It was clean and the shower was nice. The staff (other than the front desk staff the day of check-in) was also pretty friendly.

I'm not too familiar with the area so I don't know what other options are available but I imagine you can find a better experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Location is good because it's an easy walk from the metro, but not great because there's not much else within walking distance. There is parking available, but it's not free. There's wifi available in the lobby, but it's not free in the room.
The room was average but very clean, the bed and bedding were good. The staff was friendly and efficient. Overall very good but nothing that made it great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

spent 3 nights while attending friends bat mitsvah. Check in very prompt,4 elevators,never a wait.Room looked out over parking lot and at times was noisy as the hotel hosts alot of weddings,conferences school reunions etc. Small coffee ship off the lobby took care of the morning needs--did not dine in the one restauant option-seemed fairly empty most of the time. Air conditioner was placed on the wall where if you had it on would blow on you in bed--room had tiny coffee maker and no ice bucket. no fridge. Room was clean but did smell funny on arrival--some type of funky deoderizor i guess. Every one at the hotel was pleasant and accomadating. Close to fast food and metro stop at the corner was the highlight. Pool area was spacious enough but a lifeguard? Please would stay again but got a discounted $99 rate.Banquet food was very good and we were not charged for parking which surprised us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lovely hotel. Beautiful room. Lovely common areas. Room smelled of chip fat. Got moved. Room smelled of chip fat. When i left i paid cash but realised they had taken the full ammount when they took the deposit. Have since found they did this to others. So paid double. as one of the most expensive hotels in the area, this was a lot of money. Had to get my money back from them. DONT allow them to give you a room above the kitchens. The smell is very bad. When i complained, the best i got was a shrug of the shoulders and another key. There are better hotels locally

Room Tip: The best rooms are ones in other hotels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

With Marriott HQ nearby, the Bethesda North Marriott and adjacent Conference Center works, both for it's location and for it's clients. Marriott HQ has long needed a standard bearer for their main brand in their back yard.
After a 1 night stay there I can safely say the following:
Marriott fans and Marriott Rewards Members won't have any surprises.
The hotel is exactly what you'd expect - all business with a little luxury, very little.
Indoor pool is nice, exercise room has a lot of aerobic equipment which is what travelers who work out want- cross trainers and treadmills are always desirable.
The restaurant is as middle of the road as the hotel is - boring but great service.
The bed and bedding are very comfortable.
The staff is friendly and efficient.
The access to Metro is fabulous- the Red Line White Flint station is less than a block away.
Amenities in the area include restaurants, shopping, parks and more shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a view south or west - it's just more attractive than Rockville Pike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

As a platinum member of Marriott i was treated worse than any other hotel in the world. I was told at check-in there were no rooms available for upgrade, only after I complained of the smelly room I was given did I receive an upgrade 10 minutes after my original request. The front desk staff have an attitude and the manager backs them up. My suggestion they need training in hospitality. If it were not for the conference I was attending and the convenience of the hotel same location, i would skip this hotel. Obviously the front desk staff know this and thus the attitude

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Also Known As:
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Marriott Bethesda North
Marriott Hotel Rockville
Marriott Rockville
Rockville Marriott
Address: 5701 Marinelli Road, Rockville, MD 20852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rockville
#4 Family Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers conference space and services for any event. It also offers a fitness center, heated indoor pool, restaurants, the largest ballroom in Maryland, and is close to the DC museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.