We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly room and incompetent staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5701 Marinelli Road, Rockville, MD 20852   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast + Free WiFi
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Rockville
london
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Smelly room and incompetent staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lovely hotel. Beautiful room. Lovely common areas. Room smelled of chip fat. Got moved. Room smelled of chip fat. When i left i paid cash but realised they had taken the full ammount when they took the deposit. Have since found they did this to others. So paid double. as one of the most expensive hotels in the area, this was a lot of money. Had to get my money back from them. DONT allow them to give you a room above the kitchens. The smell is very bad. When i complained, the best i got was a shrug of the shoulders and another key. There are better hotels locally

Room Tip: The best rooms are ones in other hotels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    134
    30
    12
    12
See reviews for
56
34
33
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

With Marriott HQ nearby, the Bethesda North Marriott and adjacent Conference Center works, both for it's location and for it's clients. Marriott HQ has long needed a standard bearer for their main brand in their back yard.
After a 1 night stay there I can safely say the following:
Marriott fans and Marriott Rewards Members won't have any surprises.
The hotel is exactly what you'd expect - all business with a little luxury, very little.
Indoor pool is nice, exercise room has a lot of aerobic equipment which is what travelers who work out want- cross trainers and treadmills are always desirable.
The restaurant is as middle of the road as the hotel is - boring but great service.
The bed and bedding are very comfortable.
The staff is friendly and efficient.
The access to Metro is fabulous- the Red Line White Flint station is less than a block away.
Amenities in the area include restaurants, shopping, parks and more shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a view south or west - it's just more attractive than Rockville Pike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

As a platinum member of Marriott i was treated worse than any other hotel in the world. I was told at check-in there were no rooms available for upgrade, only after I complained of the smelly room I was given did I receive an upgrade 10 minutes after my original request. The front desk staff have an attitude and the manager backs them up. My suggestion they need training in hospitality. If it were not for the conference I was attending and the convenience of the hotel same location, i would skip this hotel. Obviously the front desk staff know this and thus the attitude

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Five star service from the staff, an elegant lobby, and a lively pub. The 2-queen room was fresh and contemporary. When I realized I forgot some toiletries, Housekeeping was up in a flash with what I needed. The bed was comfortable and I slept well, which is unusual for me when I'm away from home (and it wasn't just because I was exhausted LOL). I would highly recommend this hotel to friends. The price for the room was on the high-end, but you get what you pay for and this hotel pulled out all stops to make my stay a pleasant and nice one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belcamp, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a friends wedding, also at this hotel, and I must say it lived up to the Marriott Brand. Check-In isn't until 3:00pm however the wedding started at 3:30 and we needed to get ready prior so we requested early check-in and they were able to oblige. Our room was beautiful and all decor was very modern and updated. The beds are amazingly comfortable. It felt as if I was sleeping on little clouds... LOL.
We ordered room service and the wait time was very minimal. The Ballroom the wedding was in hosted in was AMAZING. During the wedding, all the wait staff made sure to keep all the common areas clean and tidy. And if there was anything anyone needed, they were very quick to respond. I have not one complaint about this hotel and if I'm in the Rockville/Bethesda area again, I would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: If you order room service, try the Thai Chilli Buffalo wings. They're AMAZING
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Booked the last room available when other arrangements didn't work out.

The staff was very nice and tolerant of my request to change rooms. Thanks Courtenay!

Although the hotel was swamped with West Virginia University Band members (loud and NOT courteous people) and comic book nerds, my sleep was not disturbed. Nice firm bed.

Room was clean; TV worked (could use more channels) and bathroom clean if smallish.

Why four stars? I only give 5 stars to hotels with free wi-fi. Sorry but if Super8 and La Quinta can throw in wi-fi, so can Marriott!

Room Tip: Room behind elevator (King bed) was surprisingly quiet and had no connecting door to next room. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I needed a place to sleep for three nights in the area and this hotel was just right for this purpose.
The service was prompt, the room was clean, and I didn't need much more than that.

One positive: when I was there they had the SPX 2012 running which did add a bit of color (too bad I didn't know in advance or I've had gone to a few sessions)

One negative: really? no free internet access? (actually, reading others' reviews, maybe I just had to ask for it :-) )

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 5701 Marinelli Road, Rockville, MD 20852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rockville
#5 Family Hotel in Rockville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iscover the comforts of one of the premier hotels in Bethesda, MD with a stay at the prominent Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center. Stylish guest rooms, a Concierge level and 50,000 square feet of high-tech event space welcome both business and leisure travelers with everything needed for a remarkable hotel experience. Conveniently located near the White Flint Metro Station, guests enjoy easy access to downtown Bethesda, Rockville, Washington, D.C. And northern Virginia attractions. Featuring an expansive ballroom, 120-seat amphitheater, innovative catering and lavish amenities, our hotel's conference center is ideal for hosting inspirational Bethesda, MD events. Well-furnished rooms pamper guests with luxurious bedding ensembles, high-speed Internet access and plug-in panels for easy connectivity, while tantalizing on-site dining, 24-hour guest privileges to the hotel's fitness center and a heated indoor pool add comfort and convenience for a relaxed and productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Marriott Bethesda North
Marriott Hotel Rockville
Marriott Rockville
Rockville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.