We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good business and convention hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5701 Marinelli Road, Rockville, MD 20852   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Albany, New York, USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A good business and convention hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott – North Bethesda for four nights in early May, where I chaperoned four high school students at the National Junior Science and Humanities Symposium. The hotel and the attached convention center are modern and attractive. This is a great place to come if you have business at the National Institutes of Health, which is just a few miles down the road, or if you are attending a convention (as I was) or attending a Bat Mitzvah (as was also in evidence that weekend). It is not a place to go for a vacation. Even though a subway stop is in very easy walking distance, I think one could find a more interesting place to stay for less money if you wanted easy access to the Washington subway system.

The food at the convention center was excellent, and all four of my students agreed that the food was very good. The rooms were perfectly adequate, although you will not find a safe in your room (at least there was none in mine).

The area surrounding the hotel is not particularly attractive, but it is not urban blight either. It is a safe area, and I had no reservations in allowing my student delegation to walk to the nearby strip mall, or to the subway stop to go to the Washington Zoo and the National Mall.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    142
    30
    12
    14
See reviews for
57
36
34
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

The beds were very comfortable and the room with two beds was large. Convenient safe in the room. Hotel does not offer free wifi -only one computer in the lobby to check emails. Very close to metro and about a half hour subway ride to downtown. A few restaurants in the area , but not much else if you don't have a car. A huge Whole Foods market is about a ten minute walk and open 7 days quite late. Handy to pick up some items -instead of the 7/11 which is about a block from the hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingubrg, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We got this hotel for two nights at a bargain price through travelocity. We were there on a Thurs and Fri for a family reunion in the area. The room was beautiful. We used the pool which had a lifeguard and was well kept. The restaurant was a bit pricey for us but the breakfast we had was fabulous. We did have to pay extra for parking. It was very convenient and the subway to DC was just across the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This was my fourth visit in 2012, with several more to follow. Front desk staff know me by now and are welcoming and helpful. Concierge lounge is excellent and usually uncrowded; had only one bad experience with large groups and numerous children leaving no room for the regulars. Beds are extremely comfortable and all rooms on the two concierge floors now have permanent refrigerators. The gym is great. The hotel has recently provided free parking on weekends. The Metro stop on the corner is convenient and the new Whole Foods within walking distance is a welcome addition (don't try to drive there--the indoor parking is confusing at best). Only complaint is that this hotel no longer prepares my room in accordance with the requests from my Marriott profile, like extra towels.

Not sure I should share this information, but this is the best category 4 Marriott hotel I've stayed in (seems more like a category 5), so it's the perfect place to use MegaBonus certificates.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-connecting room in a low-traffic area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a wedding. Pretty straight forward. The Sat brunch buffet was good. The Sunday was just so so.
Its really close to a metro stop so that was convenient for me coming from the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I visited this Marriott in May to visit with local friends and do some sight-seeing around DC. The hotel was located right next to the White Flynt metro station which made getting in and out of the city super convenient. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the friendly front desk staff and chose to upgrade to a corner room that got us access to the concierge lounge that had a delicious breakfast buffet every weekday, a more spacious room, and a mini-fridge…definitely worth the extra money! Our room was extremely clean and as a neat freak this room even passed my standards, however, one of our bathroom light bulbs went out during the stay, but the staff came to change it quickly. We ordered room service for breakfast on a Saturday… I got the most delicious cinnamon French toast and my husband got an American breakfast platter. Overall the hotel was a great experience with great staff, food, and the best location in town!

Room Tip: Corner room is definitely worth the small upgrade fee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

This particular Marriott is built for business meetings as the hotel has a large conference center attached to the hotel and seems structured to cater those events. The rooms are nice and upscale. They feel modern and clean. The bed was very comfortable (however the pillows felt stiff).

Plenty of parking. However, parking is not free.

No major issues here. A nice, modern, full service Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 5701 Marinelli Road, Rockville, MD 20852
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rockville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#6 Family Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iscover the comforts of one of the premier hotels in Bethesda, MD with a stay at the prominent Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center. Stylish guest rooms, a Concierge level and 50,000 square feet of high-tech event space welcome both business and leisure travelers with everything needed for a remarkable hotel experience. Conveniently located near the White Flint Metro Station, guests enjoy easy access to downtown Bethesda, Rockville, Washington, D.C. And northern Virginia attractions. Featuring an expansive ballroom, 120-seat amphitheater, innovative catering and lavish amenities, our hotel's conference center is ideal for hosting inspirational Bethesda, MD events. Well-furnished rooms pamper guests with luxurious bedding ensembles, high-speed Internet access and plug-in panels for easy connectivity, while tantalizing on-site dining, 24-hour guest privileges to the hotel's fitness center and a heated indoor pool add comfort and convenience for a relaxed and productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Marriott Bethesda North
Marriott Hotel Rockville
Marriott Rockville
Rockville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.