We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business in Bethesda and the North Marriot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5701 Marinelli Road, Rockville, MD 20852   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Business in Bethesda and the North Marriot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed one night at the Bethesda North Marriot Hotel and Conference Center, because of a meeting in the Conference Center. The positives: the hotel lobby and meeting rooms were fresh, modern, warm and esthetic. The place glowed with marble surfaces and lighting. The room was well appointed (although with a microscopic soap bar), the bed and linens were very comfortable, and the furnishings and drapes were high quality - a cut above many business oriented hotels. A convenient starbucks and other amenities were appreciated. Check-in and out was a breeze, and staff were helpful. The hotel could easily rate another star if only: (1) the front desk personnel were more efficient: I asked for change of a $20 bill and this required about 10 minutes of checking, rummaging, fussing. (2) retrieval of checked luggage seemed to take an eternity, AFTER the bell captain was finally located. (3) when an item fell off the night table and I sought it near the bed frame-under the bed skirt, I was shocked to find copious amounts of detritus hiding under the bed skirt and behind the night table that had accumulated and not been vacuumed. (4) no taxis were waiting in front of the hotel so I took a costly hotel limo (waiting) for my next meeting under a tight schedule; the hotel driver wound me through the most extreme and unecessary traffic to get to my next destination (5) access to lower level conference rooms required walking up and down a long steep, flight of stairs (neither the elevator nor an escalator were visible). Somewhat of a challenge if you are lugging a suitcase or heavy computer.

Room Tip: My room had an intermittent and very loud noise coming from a generator or some other type of heavy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    159
    39
    13
    18
See reviews for
65
43
38
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Business trip with meetings in both DC and baltimore. So perfect location...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadlephia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed here one night for a conference in the neighborhood. Very easy 5 min walk from the Metro, helpful and pleasant employees, and nice room. Bagel store in the strip mall next door opens at 6 am - a big perk. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed on the 9th floor concierge level, but it didn't seem to be anything special. I could hear lots of noise from the hallway from staff, and the neighbor's door banged very loudly when s/he entered or exited. The design of the room was strange: the first 6 feet or so of the floor at the entrance was cold tile. Say what? In addition the air in the room was exceedingly stale. Of course the windows are sealed throughout the building. Dead building syndrome.

The room service food is hit and miss. Good: the apple tart with vanilla ice cream (it's a pre-fab tarted heated up, but it's good nonetheless), and the crab cake sandwich. Bad: the "caesar salad". Let me tell you about this salad: it was created by a guy somewhere downstairs who ripped up some plain dry iceberg lettuce, put it on a plate, and then placed next to it 2 ceramic custard cups of dressing. That, my friends, is how you destroy anyone's interest in a salad.

The staff at the check-in was consistently pretentious.

The best thing about this hotel: the Rockville metro station is just across the street, and Whole Foods is only 2 blocks away.

In general I felt like I was in a motel. I doubt I will be returning to this establishment, unless I need it for its convenient location (Rockville does not have many high quality hotel choices).

Room Tip: Concierge rooms don't seem to be anything special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend with my husband. It was right across from the White Flint Metro stop, so provided a short ride into DC via train. The rooms were on the average side...slightly worn with regard to the furniture, but the bed was super comfortable. Overall, the hotel appeared recently renovated and fresh. The breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant was always delicious and had excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed 2 nights from 12/22-23. Good overall experience. Clean and comfortable rooms....up to Marriott standards.
Reduced service levels because of the Christmas holiday, but made up for it by offering free parking during the holidays - nice gesture.
Wifi in rooms - ideal for business travellers. Excellent concierge lounge amenities and view.
Well equipped pool and gym area.
Attentive wait staff at the restaurant for breakfast - choice of a-la carte or buffett.
Well trained front desk staff. Bright, modern and inviting lobby area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

For the most part, this hotel was a standard Marriott--clean, comfortable rooms, but nothing to get overly excited about. The location is excellent--you are right across from the White Flint metro station on the Red line, so it's very easy to get into DC without a car.

Hotel was undergoing renovations, so breakfast offerings were in a conference room. I was not impressed.

That said, the hotel gets MAJOR brownie points for accommodating so many travellers an extra day because of the hurricane cancelling every flight out of town.

Given my druthers, I'd prefer to stay in DC proper, but if you have to stay out in Maryland (say, for a wedding), I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 5701 Marinelli Road, Rockville, MD 20852
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rockville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the comforts of one of the premier hotels in Bethesda, MD with a stay at the prominent Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center. Stylish guest rooms, a Concierge level and 50,000 square feet of high-tech event space welcome both business and leisure travelers with everything needed for a remarkable hotel experience. Conveniently located near the White Flint Metro Station, guests enjoy easy access to downtown Bethesda, Rockville, Washington, D.C. And northern Virginia attractions. Featuring an expansive ballroom, 120-seat amphitheater, innovative catering and lavish amenities, our hotel's conference center is ideal for hosting inspirational Bethesda, MD events. Well-furnished rooms pamper guests with luxurious bedding ensembles, high-speed Internet access and plug-in panels for easy connectivity, while tantalizing on-site dining, 24-hour guest privileges to the hotel's fitness center and a heated indoor pool add comfort and convenience for a relaxed and productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda North Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Marriott Bethesda North
Marriott Hotel Rockville
Marriott Rockville
Rockville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.