We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a new greek place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trapezaria

Trapezaria
11 North Washington Street, Rockville, MD 20850
301-339-8962
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trapezaria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 347 Restaurants in Rockville
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a new greek place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The first time I tried this place, I wasn't too impressed. I tried again with another friend and got the chicken dish and it was outstanding.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great greek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went there on the advice of a friend and were not disappointed. We have been there 3 times now and every time the food and service have been wonderful. I agree with UFORich, it is definitely not typical Greek food. We could easily just order several mezze and dessert and skip the entre as the appetizers are easily large enough to share and there is a huge variety. We have enjoyed the 20 mezze for $40 special twice now. That is an excellent way to sample much of the menu and there was enough to take home for the next day's dinner. Parking is another plus for this restaurant. There is free, covered parking on weekends at the M&T bank lot right behind the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Enjoyed the wonderful ambiance, the service and the fabulous Greek food for Christmas Evening with our family. The food we had is not your run of the mill Greek, it does not have a Gyro on the Dinner menu. It has many wonderfully prepared lamb, steak and other options including plenty of individual appetizers which are a meal in themselves. They have a Greek sampler that includes moussaka, spanakopita, and the lamb. We all chose something different off the menu and were very happy. Salads are large as is are the portions. Meals are around $14-25 dollars in price but the quality is superb. I had Greek coffee and the galactobourekos which is a phyllo dough covered pastry with custard and covered with honey are wonderful as is the flan. It is convenient to a parking lot, and the ambiance is very classy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Trapezaria”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I would have given Trapezaria a much higher rating for the food and service. Both were excellent. My issues had to do with what happened behind the scenes. I called in the morning of my lunch reservation to lower the number in our party from 5 to 4. When we arrived, it was not changed. Our waitress even remembered that she had spoken to me but had not changed the number. We identified ourselves under my name with the Open Table reservation. They acknowledged it but the next day I received an email from Open Table saying I had been a no-show. Fortunately I was able to rectify the situation with a detailed email of our experience in the restaurant. These are the type of things that turn off a diner because they say one thing but do not follow through. Fortunately the food was delicious!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Truly superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

A wonderful restaurant...great food, friendly and accommodating service, and wonderful spot. I went for a business lunch and was wowed. I asked if they could make my favorite Greek dish, grilled octopus, and they brought a beautifully prepared, delicious dish of grilled octopus to the table. And the decor is totally authentic...it feels like you are on the coast of Greece. Stunning. The chef came out to say hello. I don't live near Rockville, but I would make a special trip to come back to this spot!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trapezaria also viewed

 

Been to Trapezaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trapezaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.