We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dim Sum in Rockville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Far East Restaurant

Far East Restaurant
5055 Nicholson Ln, Rockville, MD 20852-3101
(301) 881-5552
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 352 Restaurants in Rockville
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Best Dim Sum in Rockville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

By far, it is the best dim sum in the area. Portion are big, very tasty and price are very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Get the shrimp dumplings - you won't regret it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I went here three times within a month - that should say how much I like it. The dim sum is excellent. You can get it on weekdays too but it just doesn't come around on a cart (you order it off a menu). The restaurant is clean and spacious on the inside and is on more than one floor - although I have only recently sat on the bottom floor. The fried taro is awesome, as are the shrimp dumplings and radish cake! I brought some friends and they all went back separately with their families within the same week. That's how good it is!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have tried many different Chinese Restaurants, in Gaithersburg, Germantown, and some in Rockville. Having said that, I found that the food at Far East Restaurant, is superior to most places that I have tried. Fantastic server, prompt service, and great atmosphere, will keep us coming back to this restaurant.. If you haven't tried it, then you should try it for sure.. You won't be sorry that you stopped there, and mos likely will become a regular customer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, MD
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Bland dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Three of us shared dishes for lunch today. While I normally don't add salt, I had to add salt to my broccoli. The orange chicken wasn't spicy at all and the chicken and cashews was just mediocre.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Dim Sum in DC Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The best Dim Sum in the DC metro area! It's tasty and offers good value. MUCH Better than Oriental East and Silver Fountain in DC. The chef and owner used to operate another restaurant in Columbia MD that served fantastic dim sum and we would trek from Rockville just to have dim sum in Columbia. So happy that the owner and dim sum chef and the helpers are serving dim sum at the Far East now (weekends and holidays only). While the Far East has been an established entity, it only started serving dim sum a few months ago. I just came back from Hong Kong and this place can match those in Hong Kong. Only complaint is the host does not use a priority system when there is a wait. He just made guests stand by the doorway and queue in line. Very confusing and unpleasant when it's crowded.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far East Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Far East Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far East Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.