We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Tower Oaks again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge

Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge
2 Preserve Pkwy, Rockville, MD 20852-4205
+1 301-294-0200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 335 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sandwiches, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wootten Parkway
Transit: Bus 81, Monday - Friday until 7:30pm
Description: Tucked away in a 22-acre nature preserve just fifteen minutes from Georgetown, Tower Oaks Lodge has the look and feel of an authentic Adirondack lodge. Divided into four dining rooms, the Lodge contains a vast collection of art and artifacts such as vintage canoes and row boats, and antique saddles and trophies. Chef Jeffery Eng, formerly of 1789 Restaurant, presides over the kitchen team featuring a menu of great American saloon-style food. The Lodge offers the freshest seafood, locally-grown seasonal vegetables, pastas, and salads, as well as Clyde's classics such as cheeseburgers and chili.
Brookeville, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Tower Oaks again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I really enjoy Tower Oaks and just realized that I have not ever written a review! Our meal there last evening was delicious, as usual. I had the lump crab cakes, which are some of the finest in the area. (My only complaint there is that they are definitely NOT "jumbo" as labeled on the menu - have to go to Timbuktu for really good jumbo crab cakes.) The arugula accompaniment was just OK - but one can substitute side dishes. The Alaska halibut was also very good, and the mango sorbet was delicious - service was good, as usual. This is not a place to go for a quiet dinner, however, as the noise level was (and often is) high. While pricey, I return again and again for the crab cakes and the pleasant setting both outdoors (Canadian woods and stream) and inside (tack room or woodsy decor).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    174
    49
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap Brunch Drinks, Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We went for brunch last week to Cylde's Tower Oaks Lodge and found we couldn't make reservations through Open Table. The explanation is that it is not listed with the other Clyde's restaurants. It's listed under Tower Oaks. This should be corrected. For the pluses, the brunch menu offers something for everyone and the highlight was $4.00 Bloody Mary's and Mimosas. And they were large!! I had the quiche with an accompanying salad which was fine. My husband had Nutella stuffed French toast which he enjoyed. We'll be back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Marvelous place for a celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were celebrating a college graduation. They accommodated our large group very nicely. The food and service were excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent May Special - Alaskan Halibut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is my second review of Clydes Tower Oaks. We went there last week and had the May Special – Alaskan Halibut. It was excellent ! The fish was served on a bed of barley & mushrooms and topped with shaved asparagus and a lemon butter sauce. I definitely recommend it. The Strawberry Shortcake dessert is also the real deal with the cake part being a light homemade biscuit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just like the Northwoods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is a huge restaurant with several rooms that are packed with people. You may wish to ask for a smaller room because of noise. Listen to the waiter about what is really good. You will find the food tastey but nothing spectacular... A good place to come with a group just wanting some good food. Area in some rooms for watching sports... Our group enjoyed the May special fish, a trout that could have fed two, and the scallops. The Keylime pie was ok the chocalate brownie huge and decadent The chowder was excellent. Gourmet it is not.. Comfort food it is

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge also viewed

 
Rockville, MD
 

Been to Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clyde's Tower Oaks Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.