We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“== not good ==” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lebanese Taverna Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lebanese Taverna Cafe
1605 Rockville Pike, Rockville, MD 20852-1619
301-468-9086
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 331 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Lebanese, Delicatessen, Middle Eastern
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
483 helpful votes 483 helpful votes
“== not good ==”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our reception was by a guy cleaning his nails; he was disinterested . . . he also got our order wrong. They couldn't be bothered to correct it other than for a Gallic shrug. The self-service concept reeked of laziness.

The food was mediocre (we had the Lebanese platter); they used plastic for everything except the platter. Even the baclava was bad: almost all dough. I guess that's cheaper?

The only highlight was the turkish coffee which was served at the table by a cheerful person.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    27
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasty middle eastern in a shopping center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have visited this place for its dips as snacks while shopping on previous occassions. This time we needed to visit the Container Store on an evening so we had full dinners. We started with the special hommus with ground lamb in it and it was wonderful. The fresh pita was also very good. The platters were also very good and we ended up taking alot home for lunches. The atmosphere leaves alot to be desired as it is a fast-food counter type of place. But the food never disappoints.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Consistent Mediterranean cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Love the food, esp the sampler platters and salmon. Wine selection is OK only. They also can do party platters. The Flagship restaurant in Bethesda is amazing, 5 stars.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Ms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I love this restaurant for their greek chicken. However when i went there on Friday night at dinner time they were out of white meat chicken and it would be 45 minutes until it was ready. I did order something else that was very good.
This restaurant is a order what you want and seat your self. very casual. I have gone many times for lunch and or dinner. the food is always good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent cheap eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Been going there weekly for years. Love the chicken shawarma and the bread. Also the kafta Harra is excellent.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lebanese Taverna Cafe also viewed

 
Rockville, MD
 

Been to Lebanese Taverna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lebanese Taverna Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.