We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Saigon - CLOSED

Taste of Saigon
20 Maryland Ave, Rockville, MD 20850-4119
(301) 424-7222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Terrific food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had CRISPY CALAMARI with sweet and sour sauce, CARAMEL FISH fillet simmered in caramel sauce and served in a hot pot and MA TU’S SIGNATURE DISH - A sweet, mild black-pepper sauce sautéed with lightly-breaded soft shell crab. All three were superb!

I would have given it 5 stars except for the VERY slow service. We got there just before 8:30 on a Thursday night and the place was just about empty except for 4-5 people at the bar. Since we were outside at a sidewalk table, they nearly forgot about us until I went inside and got a waiter. It took about an hour and a half for us to have what should have been a 45-min. meal at most. The prices were reasonable.

Toward the end I went inside and sat at the bar, and soon in came a penguin. The penguin turned to the bartender and asked, "Have you seen my father?" The bartender responded with "Oh, maybe. What's he look like?"

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

It had been several years since I had been to Taste of Saigon. Just had dinner there again with the family. Everyone who knows about this restaurant knows about the Black Pepper Sauce. This time I was introducing my kids to this dish so I ordered TWO! (Black Pepper Shrimp). It was good as I remember. The portions are kind of small but this is a one of kind amazing dish. The flavors just burst in your mouth. We also ordered the "Shakey Beef" (very good, but again, small portion size) and Vietnamese Noodles (kind of like Vietnamese Pad Thai). We each also ordered soups for appetizers. I had the Asparagus Crab soup, and my wife and daughters ordered the Pho. This place ain't cheap but the food is good, service is good and the ownership is warm and friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Food in Rockville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is, by far, my favorite restaurant in Montgomery County. I've been here several times a month over the past 4 years and it never fails to impress me! The black pepper chicken (Ma Tu's) is amazing - sweet and savory and perfect! Awesome pho, thick rice noodles with beef are a great comfort food meal. Customer service is amazing, also great with kids. We celebrate all our special dates here. Love, love, love!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food - black pepper sauce worth the travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I travel to Gaithersburg twice a year for business. Several years ago a friend took me to Taste of Saigon. I make it a point to go here on every trip. The black pepper sauce is amazing. Great atmosphere. The staff are very accommodating for larger parties. Highly recommend.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My first experience with VietNamese Cusine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I tried this restaurarnt with a group of 4 other women. We asked for 3 of their most popular dishes and one was the Black Pepper Shrimp. It was the first to be consumed by the group and we all have returned to eat it. It ranks among my top ten meals ever eaten. What joy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Saigon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.