We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Niwano Hana Japanese Restaurant

Niwano Hana Japanese Restaurant
887 Rockville Pike, Rockville, MD 20852-1231
(301) 294-0553
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 332 Restaurants in Rockville
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
North Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We usually go here at least once an year. The sushi is fresh, good quality and the service is friendly. The prices are average. We had a party of 5 for 6:30PM on a Sat. in mid Aug. We arrived early and were seated right away. The place is small about 70 at max. They only have tables for 2 or 4. However, the dining area is in 2 levels. The upper level can only seat 6 comfortably. 8 would be tight together. The tables on the upper level are perpendicular to the depth of the dining area. The tables on the lower level run parallel to the depth of the room. So any party larger than 6 would be more comfortable there. They had plenty of special sushi rolls that night. We had the California roll dinner ($15) for an appetizer (18 pcs). The Udon with shrimp, mussels, clams & scallops ($15.50) came in an iron pot; the broth was tasty with plenty of noodles & ingredients. The sashimi deluxe ($29.95) had 21 pieces, 3 each (octopus, tuna, salmon, mackerel, white fish, etc.), very good. The beef teriyaki was tender. Green Tea is complimentary. We were in and out within 80 mins. We noticed that most of the customers ordered sushi or sashimi. A nice place for fresh sushi.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rockville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It is worth the trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great sushi, good prices and good menu! My husband and I go there at least once a week and we love it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another Sushi restaurant for your collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This restaurant is a welcome addition to our short list of >> pretty good sushi restaurants in this neck of Montgomery County. It really deserves 4.5 stars. The sushi seemed fresh, the service was very good, and the kitchen-based food (grilled squid, salmon jaw, etc) was excellent. The rolls (spicey tuna hand roll and some others we had) were ....ok, not inspiring. Overall, well worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Fresh, Fresh Sushi. Friendly and Gluten Free Accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I love this sushi restaurant, after our daughter tipped us off to it a few years ago. The people are very accommodating. My wife has no trouble negotiating her Celiac's Disease here. They know what gluten-free means, and that soy sauce has wheat. Oh, my, the sushi is SOOO fresh and tasty. We had a combined sushi/sashimi that had fish rolled in rice and then a another piece of fish or seafood on top. The tofu special sushi was great. But the grand prize goes to a scallop, hot mayo creation that had me drooling. (Sorry, too graphic. But you get the point)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi, neighborhood feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The sushi here is some of the best I have ever had. Everything is fresh and well prepared with experienced sushi chefs greeting you as you walk in the door. The rice is tasty but not overly seasoned. Service is gracious, attentive and thoughtful. Tempura is usually hot and crisp, but once in a while a little soggy. I rarely make to an entree though because the sushi is so good. Not cheap but you get what you pay for and fresh well prepared sushi is sometimes difficult to find.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niwano Hana Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Niwano Hana Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niwano Hana Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.