We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different but good...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Canela

La Canela
141-D Gibbs Street, Rockville, MD 20850
+1 301-251-1550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 331 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Different but good...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a Peruvian restaurant with some different menu items that you don't see often. I went here recently with two colleagues. The starters were very good and were happily shared by all... especially these wonderful crab croquetes. My entree was a sea bass with a creamy pepper sauce covered with calamari. The fish and the sauce was excellent but the calamari was terrible... I do not like the skin to be left on the squid which it was...and it was so tough, you could bound the pieces like a rubber ball. Overall, it would say that my colleagues and I enjoyed the food and the atmosphere but steer away from the calamari!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    24
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not a great experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Food was good but we had our appetizers well before we got our wine. They did not have the bottle we wanted so we had to pay $20 extra for a more expensive bottle. Waited for wine, waited for dessert. Service seemed disorganized like they were not used to having customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Prefer other places”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Although the food was beautiful, it tasted "just okay". I really wanted to love it, but alas.... With so many other amazing restaurants in the area, I'd skip this place. Disappointing given the high rating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

La Canela offers a great Peruvian food! I tried the lomo saltado and ravioles rellenos de ají de gallina, and the ceviche... Awesome! The price is really good for the food they offer!! I don't know if we can make reservations ahead.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Love this resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have eaten once...it was for my anniversary. It was great! Beautiful atmosphere and food. I highly recommend it. I plan on coming back on my birthday! Can't wait!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Canela also viewed

 
Rockville, MD
 

Been to La Canela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Canela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.