We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheba

Sheba
5071 Nicholson Ln, Rockville, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 350 Restaurants in Rockville
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Restaurant details
Lillington, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our daughter put us onto Sheba. I have lived in Ethiopia (Eriteria) and enjoy good Ethiopian cuisine. I have eaten at many of the Ethiopian restaurants in the DC area, going all the way back to one of the first, The Red Sea. My personal feeling is this is unequivocally the best Ethiopian food I have encountered anywhere, bar none.

The place was spotless, The decor was modern with the African/Ethiopian influence.

The meal was tasty and hot, and additional injera was provided before we could ask. My wife and I shared the meat sampler and the vegetable sampler. The taste, the smell, the texture, the experience was beyond our expectations.

The staff were friendly and helpful and very courteous.

This, or any other Ethiopian restaurant, is not the place for a romantic meal, but for any and every other dining opportunity please give Sheba a try.

Try it, you'll like it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Veggie platter is delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the vegan platter....they also have a veggie platter (has egg)....will be back. Not much more to say to reach minimum word count.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We ordered beef and lentil pastries for our appetizer. For our entres we ordered the vegetable sample platter, beef keywat, and chicken platter. The food was delicious, as well as the appetizers. However, we were disappointed with the service, as our appetizers did not arrive until after we finished our entrees. They did comp the appetizer, so we were left impressed with the restaurant. Overall, I highly recommend trying Sheba if you are in town or new to Ethiopian cuisine.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“FINALLY!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you love Ethiopian food but sometimes want it without traveling to DC, or don't like the places in Wheaton or Silver Spring, Sheba has come to our rescue!

Crystal clear glassware, spotless utensils (get it?), and all around very clean, if not as charming as some of the Adams Morgan venues.

But the food? It's great!!! As good as the best I've had in DC and NYC.

Sheba was an Italian restaurant and there are still a couple Italian dishes on the back of the menu, which sounds kind of strange. But the Ethiopian food is really wonderful.

Special Tibs beef was tender and juicy, Kik Alicha was mild and flavorful. Entrees come with complimentary side vegetable dishes like stewed lentils and spiced cabbage/carrots.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great tasting Ethiopian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food was delicious although the atmosphere and decor was a bit stark. They had a large bottle of Tej which is a honey based mead. I have had before and it was usually naturally carbonated. This Tej was not carbonated, which was a bit strange for me. For those of you who have never visited an Ethiopian restaurant you should be prepared to eat with your right hand picking up food with the enjerra, a sour dough bread that also serves as a plate and served rolled as an edible napkin. I recommend this restaurant for all except for a romantic meal that is because of the bright lights. Also, save room for the Italian dessert menu and an espresso made with Ethiopian coffee.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheba also viewed

 

Been to Sheba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.