We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Signage and a lots of detours” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Needwood

Lake Needwood
15700 Needwood Lake Circle, Lake Needwood Boat House, Rockville, MD 20855
301-762-9500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 Attractions in Rockville
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
487 reviews 487 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Poor Signage and a lots of detours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Lake Needwood is a 75-acre (300,000 m2) reservoir in Derwood, Maryland just east of Rockville, in the eastern part of Montgomery County that is located on Rock Creek.

Once I followed the GPS to the address, there is a few car parks, I followed the sign to the trailhead carpark. There are a few trails, there is a 13.5 miles for bikers and hikers to Washington DC. I took another one that is supposed to be around the lake. I thought it was call the Blue Heron Trail, but it is not on the link today when I check it again. In any case, I was lost, the signage was poor, there are detours all over the place, because the park is going through some construction.

The lake is nice. There is a boating area where you can rent kayak, row boat, pedal boat, canoes and there is boat tours as well. You can just show up and there is a little house by the lake where you can get things arranged.

It is a nice Sunday out but I wish the signage could have been better.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, decent options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Nice scenery, golf nearby. Trails and a lake, as well as other opportunities for fun. Not sure if rafts can be taken.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place as a destination for a bike ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We like to take the bike trail that leads to this place. Very idyllic and shadowed most of the time. The lake area is very relaxing after the ride. We usually pack a light picnic and it and rest there before heading back.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

loved the kayaks! lots of fun! go early on a sunday or anytime weekday. fun watching the activity on the lake.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake- close to home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We venture here often as it is close to home. The lake is beautiful and spacious, the area is sprawled with grills, tables, shelters and good walking trails. Our son loves to play near the water and watch the fisherman at work. There is no swimming in the lake and water should not be ingested due to Microcystin produced by algae. We sometimes take a canoe out on the lake, the boathouse is open during the spring and summer months.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Needwood also viewed

 

Been to Lake Needwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Needwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.