We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bagels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bagel City

Bagel City
12119 Rockville Pike, Rockville, MD
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 350 Restaurants in Rockville
Cuisines: Bagels
Restaurant details
Lewisville, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great bagels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Not many great bagel places in DC metro area, but this place is very good if you like bagels. I strongly recommend

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Bagel City Makes 'Em Closest to NY City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

It's difficult to impossible to equal the bagels you can get at so many great bagel emporiums in New York City and environs. But Bagel City on the Pike in Rockville, Maryland, a place that has been making and serving bagels and related pastries and sandwiches for many years, makes 'em closest to New York City's best. And that's saying a lot too.

Since moving away from the DC area seven years ago, we had only been back to Bagel City a couple of times, the last being two years ago. We missed them. On our latest visit, during the Christmas holidays, we returned for a great breakfast. We each had our favorites (can't resist the "everything!") and then some to take home, along with some cookies and pastries. The service was prompt, friendly (even international and multicultural!), and efficient. The atmosphere isn't the best, but it is a large, clean place and it serves a useful purpose. We wish we had a similar bagel maker where we currently live.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benbrook, TX
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Bagels were great, they use egg beaters for breakfast though - make sure and tell them if you DON'T want egg beaters. Knish was good - BUT the cookies were stale.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Oy! It's yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hey you'd better get to Bagel City and enjoy their wares while you can. I fear they're going to be replaced by a Wal Mart?!?!?!! Regardless, while you can, stop in for a great Rachel's Reuben, or one of the best Chickie Salad sandwiches around. Wash it down with a Dr. Browns Cel Ray or Black Cherry. And you may want to get a few poppy seed hamantaschen or some rugula for the road! Yummy! Comfy! Tasty! Oy! And BTW, Monday nights after 5:00 sandwiches are 1/2 price! Such a deal!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good bagels - getting overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Bagel City has been around forever it seems, the times may be catching up. The bagels although good are getting to be overpriced. I have begun looking elsewhere for a good bagel/lox.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagel City also viewed

 
Rockville, MD
 

Been to Bagel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagel City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.