We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Watch

First Watch
100 Gibbs Street, Unit D, Rockville, MD
301-762-0621
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 333 Restaurants in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch
Description: First Watch specializes in delicious creations freshly-prepared to order. Their fresh, award-winning Breakfast, Brunch and Lunch dishes are made using only the best ingredients without the use of heat lamps or deep fryers. The best part is their creative menu features traditional favorites like omelets, pancakes, salads and sandwiches.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My family stopped at first watch for breakfast on our way out of town. We were very impressed with the quality of the food. Our party consisted of 7 people, everyone was very happy with their meals. The food was fresh, not greasy, and seasoned perfectly. We liked that the menu had more to offer than your average dinner fare. Some of the meals we tried were the parma hash, pumpkin pancakes, florida french toast, and the monte cristo sandwhich. The only down side was that it was quite busy and we had to wait a while for a table. You can grab a cup of coffee to help pass the time. We will definitely be looking for another first watch as it is a chain.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
nc0904 - Thank you for coming in before you left town! We appreciate your patience with the wait and are happy you enjoyed a very fresh, tasty and healthy meal with us.

Jessica, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thursday Go To Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Consistently good food, but inconsistent service on specific days. I avoid on Monday! The pancakes here are awesome, and HUGE! you only need 1! The sandwiches here are very good as well. My favorite is the BLT&E, the E is a fried egg! and you have a choice of greens or a bowl of soup. When they have seasonal soups, or clam chowder, I go for the soup.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
CCKoala - Thank you for all your visits! We are thrilled you always enjoy a fresh and delicious meal with us. However, we are sorry our service is not always as excellent as the food. You should expect the best from us, seven days a week, so your comments will be taken very serious. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jessica, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have eaten at this First Watch location several times. It has a great selection of breakfast food and sandwiches, but we've only been there for breakfast/brunch. We've enjoyed it each time. The breakfast food is excellent. They have huge, fluffy pancakes - and I mean huge! I once ignored the warnings (menu and waitress) and ordered three. That was (literally) a "huge" mistake. I have a healthy appetite, but couldn't finish them. Two are more than adequate! They also have excellent eggs benedict, omelets, French toast and coffee. The atmosphere is generally relaxed and casual, but it can get very busy and a little loud on weekend mornings, so plan accordingly. The staff are friendly and helpful. Overall, this First Watch location is highly recommended. It's a great breakfast spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Phil1863 - Thank you for all your visits! We are so happy you always enjoy a relaxing and delicious breakfast or brunch with us. And you are right, our pancakes are very filling! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jessica, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Creme-bruleed Waffle= enough said!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very good breakfast. No wait, nice location in downtown Rockville. I had the special creme bruleed waffle, with caramalized bananas, sugar-coated bacon, bacon-infused syrup, and fresh creme topping! It was amazing! Their menu was nice and I'm sure we'll be back to check out the rest of their items.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
freder85ico - Thank you for stopping by for breakfast! We are so happy you enjoyed our special waffle. We hope to see you back soon to try more tasty items off our menu.

Jessica, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Can be a decent wait, but food is absolutely delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Popular spot in the Rockville town center for breakfast, usually packed. Service is friendly, food is absolutely delicious. Found this place via ZAGAT on google maps and it didn't disappoint. Fresh squeezed orange juice. Drip coffee is ok. Hashes and omelettes highly recommended. Pancakes are pretty good too.

Busy but good atmosphere, clean bathrooms, open kitchen so you can see in (if that sort of thing is cool to you).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Melmel79 - We are pleased you always enjoy our tasty breakfast food, atmosphere and clean environment. Thank you for all your visits!

Jessica, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Watch also viewed

 
Rockville, MD
 

Been to First Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Watch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.