We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hong Kong style cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Pearl Restaurant

East Pearl Restaurant
838-B Rockville Pike, Rockville, MD
301-838-8663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 344 Restaurants in Rockville
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: A quick Google search turned up yelp and other sites about East Pearl, but there doesn't appear to be a dedicated website. Excellent food!
Restaurant details
Description: A quick Google search turned up yelp and other sites about East Pearl, but there doesn't appear to be a dedicated website. Excellent food!
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Hong Kong style cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

solid authentic Cantonese cooking with a wide variety/menu. They can get very crowded. Can be noisy but the atmosphere is typical so go for the food

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Congee was very flavorful, unlike other Chinese restaurants, all of their stir fry was good, especially the bbq pork, and the fried fish was simply amazing. Very authentic Chinese cuisine. Another perk is that it is next to a Yo-Cake store. :)
One star off because some of the chairs wee slightly tattered and the windows were a bit dirty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beats Competitions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Best suited for party 6 of more so you get to taste several of their specialities BUT nothing wrong if you just want a bowl of congee or small plate for yourself. Service was good, plate change half way through is a wonderful way to appreciate your foods. We had roast duck, shrimp, salted fish fry rice, to fu, even the pea sprout was delightfully seasoned.

For the amount of food served, the quickness (so the food is hot off the wok), authentic seasoning, the properly cut, diced meats and veggies, this place gives you the best value and comfort feeling when the meal is done!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Such a tasty dinner we returned for lunch the next day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

On another visit to DC to visit my mother, we made a last minute decision to eat dinner at the East Pearl. It was so tasty, we decided to eat lunch there again the next day!

The dishes we ate: Chicken Dumplings Hong Kong Style, Fried Noodles Hong Kong Style, Roast Pork, AND Mussels in Black Bean Sauce. The black bean sauce was amazing! Given that we are non-Chinese, they made everything "mild" as opposed to "spicy"!

Perhaps I was tired from traveling, perhaps I was happy to see my mother; whatever the reason,
we both agreed that the food was, how to you say, WOW! And both of us have eaten Chinese Food (real or American Style) all over the world (China, Hong Kong, London, Malaysia, New ?York, San Francisco, Singapore, Sydney, Taiwan, etc). When I return to DC in a month, we'll probably eat there again!

Well done!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, GA
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Wow, a real "CHINESE" chinese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were visiting my parents and wanted to take them and some close friends out for a nice meal. We grew up in Hawaii and enjoy actual "Asian" food. Most of the places that you go to these days are set up for an American "Takee-Outee" "sweet & sour" palette. My brother suggested the East Pearl.

This is about as an authentic a Hong Kong Restaurant as I've been to outside of Chinatown. While you can find many dishes that will suit even the most American of taste buds, many of the selections are very traditional.

We ordered 10 dishes and shared them family style. The service was great and a great time was had by all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Pearl Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to East Pearl Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Pearl Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.