We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More cute than interesting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quench

Quench
9712 Traville Gateway Dr., Rockville, MD 20850
+1 301-424-8650
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #217 of 349 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Gastropub, Fusion, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Maryland's Best New Restaurant award winner for 2013 and "Best Cocktails" award winner for 2014 as named by the Maryland Restaurant Association! Quench features artisan cocktails and modern American cuisine using local ingredients when possible, and served in snack, small and full-plate sizes. While eating, drinking and socializing at Quench, our guests experience the comfort of a neighborhood bar, mixed with amazing design elements, an attentive staff and incredible food prepared by our Chef (Ed Hardy, long-time sous Chef for Marcus Samuelsson) and cocktails. We have a dog-friendly patio -- the biggest and best patio in town -- and live music fills our room every Friday and Saturday night.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“More cute than interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Had lunch there and the food and service we OK but not significantly better than many lower rated restaurants. Since I had work to do in the afternoon I was not drinking form the long drink list. I this is the best Rockville can do then I'll continue to eat elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food but cold temp”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Had lunch in a group of 5 on a Tuesday in mid-Dec. Walked in at opening at 11:30; each person ordered something different. Each dish was fine & tasty. The room was very cool from the start, somewhat uncomfortable even with a vest or sweater or jacket. Music sound level was higher than comfortable for conversation but was lowered twice upon request. For more than an hour we were the only patrons. Upon finishing around 1pm the temp was a little higher but maybe only because the air circulation seemed to be off - not a warm & cozy lunch place that day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Cute little resturant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We ate here on a Friday night around 7. We had a reservation, and our table was waiting when we arrived. Having lived in Baltimore for several years, this restaurant reminded me a lot of the restaurants in Hampden - small/modern/eclectic. The service was fine, nothing extraordinary. The food was a bit above average. We shared the pretzel snack, which was quite good. I had the macaroni and cheese and added chicken, which turned out to be a deep fried chicken breast on top of the pasta. Now I love fried chicken, but it wasn't what I was expecting. Still, the entree was tasty, large, and very filling. My husband had the grilled cheese, also very good. It is a little expensive, but not outrageous. Overall, a fairly average experience. We'll probably be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Overrated. Not sure how this is 3rd popular restaurant in Rockville.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We visited Quench this evening after reading reviews. We were very disappointed and likely won't return. They had no celery to serve with wings so we ordered the Rueben Dip - of which they had none available. The third choice of a salad turned out to be good, although some ingredients that were listed seemed to be missing (nuts). My calamari was served as a stew in marinara sauce - not at all as expected. A bottle of yuengling lite beer was $5 (not exactly happy hr prices). Musicians were coming in as we left so I assume entertainment was scheduled for later. Patrons seemed to be a wide mix. Waitress was nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great cocktails”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went here for dinner in August. A Wednesday around 7:30. Was not packed inside and sat in nice couch area to have a cocktail to wait for table outside. It took at least 15 min for anyone to come over and then they seemed distracted and even annoyed when asked any questions. Ordered 50 Shadez of Grey cocktail and waited at least 10 min for it to arrive. Dining companion had that and a Sex in the Burbs later. The 50 Shadez was yummy. Seated outside at a wobbly table. Waitress was super nice, but service was slow. Orders consisted of crispy chickpeas and goat cheese dip for appetizers. Chickpeas were good. Goat cheese appetizer tasted like someone had been really heavy handed with salt. The crostini was so hard it was inedible. I have had many goat cheese appetizers or variations of it, because it is something I enjoy, and this was one was not something I would order again. Entrees were Maryland crab roll and duck tacos. Dining companion said tacos were good. The Maryland crab roll was terrible. I am a lifelong Marylander. Crab is everywhere on menus. The seasoning was so heavy I just gave up even trying to eat it. I love Old Bay. It was not Old Bay. It tasted like someone had dumped a container of salt on it. I don't know what was going on in the kitchen and if this is normal for their food, but I let a Groupon expire without going back because of this experience. I would return for cocktails...and use of the original Groupon value...and hope to have a better experience with different food choices if I dared eat there again.
I have seen some scathing replies from Quench's owner to critical reviews of their menu. These actually made me reconsider my original choice to try Quench out. I am glad I did. Cocktails were great, though pricey, and it has a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quench also viewed

 
Rockville, MD
 

Been to Quench? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quench, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.