We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need more of these in the burbs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quench

Quench
9712 Traville Gateway Dr., Rockville, MD 20850
+1 301-424-8650
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #209 of 346 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Gastropub, Fusion, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Maryland's Best New Restaurant award winner for 2013 and "Best Cocktails" award winner for 2014 as named by the Maryland Restaurant Association! Quench features artisan cocktails and modern American cuisine using local ingredients when possible, and served in snack, small and full-plate sizes. While eating, drinking and socializing at Quench, our guests experience the comfort of a neighborhood bar, mixed with amazing design elements, an attentive staff and incredible food prepared by our Chef (Ed Hardy, long-time sous Chef for Marcus Samuelsson) and cocktails. We have a dog-friendly patio -- the biggest and best patio in town -- and live music fills our room every Friday and Saturday night.
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Need more of these in the burbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Fun place for date night. I like it here because it had a great atmosphere with a very creative menu. It is hard to find a non-chain restaurant outside of DC or Bethesda that had a good chef creating original dishes. They also have a great beer and wine selection as well as fun, original mixed drinks. Our only comment for improvement is that there are too many fried foods on the menu. Once they start to expand their selections we will give it 5 stars.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    26
    8
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Character Dining at it's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place is a clearly a place most should try out. Wide range of dishes thus something for everyone. Love to try happy hour. My guess is that it is amazing. You will either love this place or not but if you do, you will make it a rotation favorite.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was challenging myself to try new places. Based on the Trip Advisor reviews I gave this a try. I had the duck tacos and the pork buns. Both were just okay. The scene was just okay too. I'll stick with Cava.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hipster restaurant, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is in a random plaza in a remote location in Rockville. Not what I was expecting based on the great reviews. It was rated #1, so I wanted to try it out. Went with a group of girl friends. The food was very good and the drinks were fun and creative, and all French press served coffee. We got the goat cheese and fries for apps, which I would recommend. Everything we ordered was delicious, including the chocolate dessert. Besides that, weird location, hipster vibe with live music, small seating with small tables and chairs, small outdoor patio, slow service, pricey items, and not what I would consider the best restaurant in Rockville. #2 il Pizzico, and #4 Villa Maya far surpass this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Noisy, small, tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food was very tasty. My husband and I shared an appetizer of goat cheese which was delicious. we then shared a plate of beef brisket and coleslaw, which were both very good. the restaurant is very small with only 10 tables and a bar area. It was very noisy and that would be my only complaint, if you went with a group of people.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quench also viewed

 

Been to Quench? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quench, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;