We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tysons Buffet & Restaruant - CLOSED

Tysons Buffet & Restaruant
5550 Randolph Rd, Rockville, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Rockville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Tysons has a large selection, with many choices, but its sad that most of them are fair at best. Looks dirty, and the only perk was the dessert.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    7
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland Heights, Missouri
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Cheap and dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

mmmmmm what? Its a Buffet. So sorry it isn't nicer. It could have a bus load of people pull up any time and this is what they have to greet them here in my neighborhood? Its cheep buffet style Chinese food. The staff is super friendly and its just not up to my standard for cleanliness. No Asians I know want to eat here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A pitiful eating experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Went there on Aug 19 via a bus tour. My friend! Lots of food not tasty at all or to my taste. What a waste when I think of so much food I took and could not eat, either it it did not taste good or it looked unclean. So much pork or duck or weird fish menu. This is not China, please. Either you make it clear to the public this place is for Chinese diners or you serve something eatable. For $17, better spend it at KFC or McDonald. The dishes were in plastic, looking unclean and scratched and were wet. You drink Coke in plastic mugs.You eat fruits(they were excellent), the soup (it was awful), the meat (it was tasteless) and the dessert (not a good variety)with the same spoon and fork. The waitresses picked up only the dishes. I have known way better Chinese buffet for less. No smile on the face of the waitresses. That's called a culinary ordeal. For people who like to eat a lot without minding hygiene and taste, go ahead and eat for your money. Not for me! Give me less but of good quality. Honestly I can cook some of the food better by just looking at the recipe. People who value quantity and not care are about quality, you are served. Bon appétit !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

great veggie sushi and vegan choices! the usual chinese stuff plus VERY ethnic dishes. pho also. always fun. kids love it! soft serve is great too!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Increadable Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Was working in the area and stumbled across this Asian Buffet for lunch. The real deal. Large place with a huge selection of foods. For a buffet the sushi was great. You have got to try this place if you are ever in Rockville. I live hours away and would consider the trip to do it again if time permitted.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tysons Buffet & Restaruant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tysons Buffet & Restaruant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.