We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Tasty Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza CS

Pizza CS
1596 Rockville Pike Unit B, Rockville, MD 20852-5608
+1 240-833-8090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 342 restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: The original pizzeria experience; a simple and honest place to enjoy traditional Neapolitan pizza without making it a serious occasion.Have a glass of Italian wine or Aranciata with your pizza, play a bit of free foosball with your friends and enjoy a full menu of salads and local, old-fashioned ice cream.
burlington ontario
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Traditional Tasty Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Good tasty pizza, good choice of toppings, friendly service. Best pizza we have had in Rockville or Bethesda. Just wish they would offer a non wheat choice (or GF) choice of crust.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    25
    8
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I went here for lunch and I was surprised by how empty it is. Pizza CS is a gem of a place. Great NY style pizza, cool ambiance and friendly service. They had a great lunch menu and some awesome ice cream too. The staff were very friendly. I did think the service was a little slow though

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best pizza in DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We've been to them all in DC: Pete's, Haven, 2 Amys. This is the best pizza. Ordinary looking place off of Rockville Pike. Very friendly service, they greet you like you are family. I go here as often as I can.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Genuine Neapolitan Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Of all pizza places in the Washington DC metropolitan area, Pizza CS has got to be one of the best. Having been to Napoli at least a dozen times over the years, I am familiar with the real thing - and Pizza CS is one of the closest approximations to it in the area - the other contender being 2 Amy's in Washington.

Tucked away in an uninspiring strip mall, Pizza CS serves up a pizza made with the right pizza dough (or pasta), real tomato sauce, and mozzarella. The options include the usual toppings you would find in both the US and Napoli - sausage, arugula, etc. that you can match to your palate. Prices are reasonable - a pizza margherita is $9. Wine is cheap ($4.50) for a generous glass. They also serve basic salads for those who don't want to just eat pizza.

The place is perfect for a quick family dinner with kids - a foosball table will keep the kids entertained. But if you're taking someone out for an elegant dinner, this would not be the place to go - you order at the counter, get your own silverware, etc.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington ontario
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good Pizza but no Gluten free option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Rocket was my favourite but the Margarita, not so much. The crust is the chewy but light crust which I prefer but it would be nice to have a gluten free option too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankur R, Owner at Pizza CS, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Unfortunately, gluten-free is not possible in our wood burning oven. The temperature is too high for gluten-fee doughs to cook properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza CS also viewed

 
Rockville, MD
Rockville, MD
 

Been to Pizza CS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza CS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.