We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza CS

Pizza CS
1596 Rockville Pike Unit B, Rockville, MD 20852-5608
+1 240-833-8090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 346 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: The original pizzeria experience; a simple and honest place to enjoy traditional Neapolitan pizza without making it a serious occasion.Have a glass of Italian wine or Aranciata with your pizza, play a bit of free foosball with your friends and enjoy a full menu of salads and local, old-fashioned ice cream.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I went here for lunch and I was surprised by how empty it is. Pizza CS is a gem of a place. Great NY style pizza, cool ambiance and friendly service. They had a great lunch menu and some awesome ice cream too. The staff were very friendly. I did think the service was a little slow though

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best pizza in DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We've been to them all in DC: Pete's, Haven, 2 Amys. This is the best pizza. Ordinary looking place off of Rockville Pike. Very friendly service, they greet you like you are family. I go here as often as I can.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Genuine Neapolitan Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Of all pizza places in the Washington DC metropolitan area, Pizza CS has got to be one of the best. Having been to Napoli at least a dozen times over the years, I am familiar with the real thing - and Pizza CS is one of the closest approximations to it in the area - the other contender being 2 Amy's in Washington.

Tucked away in an uninspiring strip mall, Pizza CS serves up a pizza made with the right pizza dough (or pasta), real tomato sauce, and mozzarella. The options include the usual toppings you would find in both the US and Napoli - sausage, arugula, etc. that you can match to your palate. Prices are reasonable - a pizza margherita is $9. Wine is cheap ($4.50) for a generous glass. They also serve basic salads for those who don't want to just eat pizza.

The place is perfect for a quick family dinner with kids - a foosball table will keep the kids entertained. But if you're taking someone out for an elegant dinner, this would not be the place to go - you order at the counter, get your own silverware, etc.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington ontario
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good Pizza but no Gluten free option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Rocket was my favourite but the Margarita, not so much. The crust is the chewy but light crust which I prefer but it would be nice to have a gluten free option too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankur R, Owner at Pizza CS, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Unfortunately, gluten-free is not possible in our wood burning oven. The temperature is too high for gluten-fee doughs to cook properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Confused by all the "excellents"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Went a couple nights ago with family and friends, expecting great pizza in a casual pizza joint. You order at the counter and they bring the pizza to your table. Menu looked good and the people behind the counter were really nice, not indifferent like the usual!
BUT the pizza was just ok. I like a soft chewy crust and this was so soft that when you pick up your slice, all the toppings just slide right off. The taste (we got 3 different pizzas) was nothing to write home about. We all agreed - it wasn't bad, it just wasn't something that we'd return back for.
Don't remember anything special about the tomato sauce, the sausage, the ricotta, the buffalo mozzarella or the crust. We also got 2 salads - a caesar and a house salad. Both were good values (you can order a small for about $3-4 and a large, which feeds 2-3 for about $7). Don't know if they sell wine or it's BYOB, but we saw several tables with beer and bottles of wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza CS also viewed

 

Been to Pizza CS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza CS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.