We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best neopolitan style pizza in the DC metropolitan area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza CS

Pizza CS
1596 Rockville Pike Unit B, Rockville, MD 20852-5608
+1 240-833-8090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 362 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: The original pizzeria experience; a simple and honest place to enjoy traditional Neapolitan pizza without making it a serious occasion.Have a glass of Italian wine or Aranciata with your pizza, play a bit of free foosball with your friends and enjoy a full menu of salads and local, old-fashioned ice cream.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best neopolitan style pizza in the DC metropolitan area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Wonderful, wonderful pizza. Compared to other neopolitan places in the area, this place feels like each pie has its own love and attention oozing in the sauces and ingredients. Everything tastes fresh, true to its roots and the best part of this establishment is that you'll get a handshake from the owner every time and establish a rare owner-customer relationship that is so hard to come by these days.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Pies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Having been a chef for 25+ years and having the chance to toss a few dough in that only asserts my opinion of Pizza CS. Their sauce is simple, bright and flavorful. The crust is perfectly thin and crispy with just the right amount of chewiness. The topping ingredients are of the caliber that you would buy for yourself for a quality homemade pie. The service is friendly and accommodating and the atmosphere is warm, clean and comfortable. The first time you try their pizza won't be your last, by far the best pizza we have had in Montgomery County.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“If you've been to Italy...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

... and you miss and crave wonderful, simple Italian pizza with premium ingredients... or you are just sick and tired of the chains (and that includes matchbox)... give CS a try. My neighbor described it as "crack" pizza - meaning addictive. I'm not sure that's altogether a compliment, but I have been to Italy eight times and THIS is Italian pizza like no other in town or nearby!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I had high expectations based on Tripadvisor and Yelp reviews. Unfortunately the pizza did not live up to it.
One person has a simple extra cheese pizza. Debatable if there was actually extra cheese, but the primary problem was the pizza swimming in liquid from the sauce.
The sauce is waaaay too watery, leading to very soggy crust. This unfortunate since the crust is arguably the best part of the pie.
On another pizza we had pepperoni and onions. The kitchen was not very generous with the toppings, especially for the price.
The pizza sauce is just ok. I appreciate the use of San Marzano tomatoes, but as good as they are, they just don't carry enough flavor by itself. Some seasoning is sorely needed in the sauce.
Staff was pleasant, and the place has potential:
- (much) less watery sauce to let that excellent dough shine through and stay crispy.
- Some seasoning in the sauce.
- A bit more generous with the toppings.
Until those things are fixed, it won't be worth a second visit, especially not given the cost.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benbrook, TX
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed this Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Fresh pizza - baked right in front of you in the brick oven (think it was brick), pizzas are individual sizes - includes kid sizes (which i loved for myself), the art work was fun too - also has a foozball table and shuffleboard table - so my boys were occupoied while waiting. We also hit the jackpot - on Thursday nights they serve a free scoop of ice cream to the kiddos!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza CS also viewed

 

Been to Pizza CS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza CS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.