We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food....bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yekta Kabobi Restaurant & Market

Yekta Kabobi Restaurant & Market
1488 Rockville Pike, Rockville, MD 20852
+1 301-984-0005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Yekta Kabobi Restaurant & Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 346 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Congressional Lane
Description: Yekta Kabobi is a unique family owned and operated authentic Persian restaurant. We were the first middle eastern grocery store and restaurant in the DC metropolitan area, and have been around since 1979. We specialize in the making of all types of kabobs. We also offer authentic Persian cuisine on a daily basis. We are located in Rockville, Maryland and easily accessible from anywhere in the Washington metropolitan area.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Food....bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Iranian food at Yektha is pretty good. Much better than a place like Moby Dick or something. The food and service is great, even the atmosphere. However, the food is a bit pricey for what you get.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    14
    16
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Went to the Persian Market next door and wound up eating dinner there. The food was delicious. The rice was fluffy and the meats tender and flavorful. We had the filet and it was very tender. The chicken was good but not as good as the filet. The kashkeh bademjoon was good too! Merci!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This place is delicious. I am not even sure what else to say about it. I am a picky eater, and I keep returning to this place and getting different things. The place looks alright from the outside, but inside it is beautifully decorated, the staff is very pleasant, and they serve the food quickly. This is one of my favorite places in Rockville, MD, and I think it is very reasonably priced. The kaboobs are a must have! Enjoy it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
472 helpful votes 472 helpful votes
“You Wouldn't Know It From The Outside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

From the outside, you would drive right by this place.

Upon walking in, you are amazed how elegant and beautifully decorated this place is. The walls contain beautiful murals, centered in the room is a faux-painted coffered ceiling with a gorgeous chandelier hanging down to match, the bathrooms are elegantly decorated and contain a very cool sink as well.

The service was very good, and the food even better! Each table is served a tray of raw onions, butter, and lavash bread. We had no idea what to do with this. We were told to make onion sandwiches. Definitely a first for us!

We started with kashke bademjan, which is eggplant, onions, mint, and fermented whey. It was just okay. Almost like a hummus texture, but the taste was a bit sour.

For our main dishes, we ordered the kabob-e koobideh (ground beef skewers). These were incredibly delicious and highly recommended. We also ordered the koobideh combination, which is a chicken and ground beef kabob combo. And lastly, the soltani, which is a ground beef kabob and marinated strips of black angus top sirloin. Each is served with a generous portion of rice and a grilled tomato. In lieu of rice, you can order vegetables, which are grilled onions and peppers.

Everything was delicious and there is plenty to take home as the portions are large. I would definitely return and highly recommend it for you to try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Authentic and traditional Persian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have always shopped at the little market attached to this restaurant but rarely ate in the restaurant... that is, until it was renovated. Now this is a favorite lunchtime spot.
This is a great place for truly authentic Persian food. The kebobs are wonderful especially the "barg" which is beef filet. They make their own "doogh" which is a beverage made of fresh mint, plain yogurt and seltzer water... really a treat if you've never had it. Be adventurous and try one of the stews called, "koresh." The service is sometime a little slow when they are crowded but overall, the staff is pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yekta Kabobi Restaurant & Market also viewed

 

Been to Yekta Kabobi Restaurant & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yekta Kabobi Restaurant & Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;