We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look Elsewhere” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2621 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites Washington-Gaithersburg-Rockville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Look Elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here for about two weeks in late June/early July 2012. My biggest complaint/disappointment was with the lack of cooking utensils and silverware in the room when I arrived. It took many complaints to the front desk staff to begin to receive a reasonable complement of pots, pans, forks, knives, etc. It took four requests to get a can opener.
Just about every time I walked by the front desk there was another customer complaining that their room lacked pots, pans, utensils, soap, towels, etc.
This sort of property caters to long-term guests and offers / advertises a "fully stocked" kitchen. But, apparently you don't get that here unless you complain for several days. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Homestead Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - Rockville. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    10
    5
    16
See reviews for
9
Couples
0
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here for 10 nights during my visit to Maryland during the last 2 weeks.
The beds, bathrooms, kitchen and dining counter were average.
Found a lot of persons staying here for well over 1 month.
The hotel serves a breakfast during week days of Bagels, muffins and coffee.
Dont know why serve such food. Rarely had anything other than coffee here.
Many persons complained of high pricing. But, I got a good deal from a leading, bidding travel site.
The complimentary internet is horribly slow. We were provided with options to upgrade to faster internet at additional fees.
The room cleaning was done once a week. Additional cleaning will cost extra.
However, towels can be taken when we needed.
The location was perfect for my work at Rockville and visits to the DC area.
The Shady Grove shopping area is walking distance and provides options of Safeway, Starbucks, Panera, Chipotle and other stores.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We regret to hear that your overall experience was average. We pride ourselves on providing a superior level of service to all of our guests. However, we are glad that our property was located in a prime location for your travel needs.

We hope to have the opportunity to see you again here at our hotel and prove to you why we are the #1 extended lodging chain in the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My wife and I have been traveling for 9 months and got an excellent rate so extended for a total stay of 4 nights - with top secret rate of $45/night we didn't have an idea of conditions. We have a small RV and parking was easy and lot well lit. Office staff very helpful and room was clean and recently updated. Stocked with all needed cookware. Metro station about 1 1/2 miles away with ample parking. Breakfast was minimal but adequate: bagels, muffins, fruit and coffee. For the price our best deal of 9 months of travel!

Room Tip: Mistake made on first room as it was occupied but staff apologized and immediately upgraded room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Wayne,

Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Homestead Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - Rockville. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I arrived to a dark and poorly lit parking lot. The elevator smelled and the carpets were dirty and old. When I got into my room there was bunches of hair on the kitchen table and what looked like dry blood or rust in the bottom of the tub. I moved to another room to be greeted by a room with a bad smell and a bed with no mattress cover! A filthy stained mattress covered by a thin sheet... Oh boy! The staff was kind and accomodating but with dirty looking carpets, stained chairs, rusted fans, spotted remote and old fixtures this place is a dump... AND ...simply disgusting.

Room Tip: This place is horrible, never stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Homestead Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - Rockville. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We know that our guests have multiple hotel choices, which is why our mission is to provide clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price that guests want to come back to. The room condition you describe is totally unacceptable to me and not at all representative of our quality standards. In response to your post, I have met with our hotel staff and used your review to help coach them on room cleaning and inspection policy.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife, 3y/o daughter, and I stayed her for 2 nights while we were in the process of moving. Since I was paying $310 for 2 nights, I assumed it would be somewhat of a decent stay. After checking in I walked into the room and first noticed how out dated everything was and dirty it smelled. I then noticed black hairs on the sheets and in the bathroom/shower. The shower head looked moldy and falling apart. I requested new sheets over the phone and was told to come down and pick them up in 5 minutes. Some kind of customer service that is! All night long they're was fighting and pounding from both above us and next door. Just looking at the clientel in the hallways, I could understand why. Not the most upstanding citizens while we were staying there. The last straw was when my wife walked to the front desk from the front entrance and asked for a key card to room 201. Without any questions they gave her one. I checked in by myself, so I know for a fact they didn't know what my wife looked like. There was barely any food for breakfast as well. Considering the area, and price, this was a huge dissapoinent and we will never stay with another Homestead Suites again!!! I suggest you do the same

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Homestead Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - Rockville. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

I do appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns about the cleanliness of your accommodation. First, please know that we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent a situation like yours from occurring. Standard cleaning procedures include a thorough cleaning and disinfecting of kitchens and bathrooms. Additionally, prior to making any room available, we inspect it to ensure that our normal procedures have been followed. Given the account you described, there was clearly an unacceptable break down in our regular operations, so I have met with my staff to determine a system for preventing a repeat occurrence.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The back door was blocked open by a trash can when we arrived. Some guest doors were also open into the hallway, which smelled bad. The smoke detector in our room was missing. In our son's room, there was a chlorofluorocarbon filter sitting on the sideboard. Our room, with a kitchenette, had no cookware. By evening, two police officers had arrived and staked out a room on the first floor, and before nightfall, more police officers had arrived and there were large groups of young man clustered around the yard, as well as a couple of scantily clad young women (one of whom was a guest who has kept her door open...have to wonder what sort of guests she was expecting). We did not spend the night. We got a refund and left, as we were very uncomfortable. Upon notifying corporate offices about the terrible conditions and evident criminal activity REPEATEDLY, we were offered a coupon to come stay again! No thank you!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Homestead Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - Rockville. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for about 3 months on a work trip to Maryland. The room was clean and kitchen well equipped. We did have a frequent problem of fire alarm going off in some guest's room at night, but i guess its just the guest's responsibility to play it safe. Otherwise the staff was pleasant and helpful. The shared library and reading room is well stocked with nice books. I was travelling alone for work and safety was a important issue. I found my room safe and peaceful. Overall it was a pleasant stay except for few glitches such as sometimes the staff would miss informing me about the pick up car that had arrived for me, or missing wake up alarm calls. But overall the staff was helpful and concerned towards our comfort.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville

Address: 2621 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites Washington-Gaithersburg-Rockville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Washington-Gaithersburg-Rockville Hotel Rockville
Homestead Studio Suites Rockville
Extended Stay America Rockville
Rockville Homestead Suites
Homestead Rockville
Homestead Suites Rockville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.