We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for everybody.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2621 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites Washington-Gaithersburg-Rockville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Rockville
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
“Not for everybody.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I gather by chatting with other guests that many consider this hotel their second home. A walk through the parking lot reveals license plates from a good part of the lower 48. The confirmed 'extended stay' guests are used to the accommodations and tend to compare this place with other extended stay retreats rather than other hotels. I'm sure this has something to do with the ratings.

I was here for three week while a restoration service repaired my apartment after a lightening strike. My first surprise was that the kitchen was *not* completely furnished, but guests are allowed (encouraged) to bring the own kitchen wares with them. My studio suite seemed just right for one person, and I can honestly say -- even though my unit was quite comfortable -- an interior refurbishing would do no harm.

Since I never saw the same cleaning person twice during my 3 week stay -- I'm assuming the staff here has quite a turnover. Nevertheless, business is good -- on more than one night when I came in late, I had to circum-navigate the building looking for a parking spot

Anyway, as you can see from the attached photos, I made myself right at home.

Room Tip: It's quieter facing the rear parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    9
    6
    17
See reviews for
9
Couples
0
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for over a year and felt very safe and feel I got my moneys worth. I am a travel nurse and was looking for someplace safe and inexpensivs The staff was always very pleaseant. I was there for the 2 snow storms and 2 young men dug out my car....I paid them as it was under 3 ft of snow...but it was worth every penny. There was never any disruptions or loud parties and I worked day and night shifts. I woul definately recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

The reviews that I read about this hotel made me scared. but when I checked in the hotel it was a completely different situation. The front end staff was present all the time, he welcomed us as if they knew us from before. he was very professional and well mannered. It was saturday morning, although the check in time was 3 pm and we went there around 12pm but he was kind enough to let us check in, he took hardly 5 mins and we were done with the check in process.
Before entering the room I had a feeling that it would going to be horrible but when I walked in, the room was as if brand new. neat and clean carpet, neat kitchen, good size T.V, the bathroom was clean, everything seemed so nice.
I needed some extra packs of coffee as I love it, so I called the front desk. He listened to what I asked for and with in minutes, I heard a knock at my door and he was there with coffee. That was a very quick service. I am very satisfied with the hotel and really appreciate the staff services.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

room looked like a war zone--listenede to showers and cammods all night--fight at 3 a.m. in the hallway--slamming doors all night--staff rude--avoid this place unless ur desparate--

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I can not complain about the Homestead Suites, the room was average. I must say that I found some hairs in the towels, I guess that's a recurring problem as I can read from other posts.

I never cooked at the room, but the pans seemed clean enough. Check-in/Check-out was pretty easy since it had been prepaid.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, well except someone really picky.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

We chose to stay here for a 2 nights for post-operative rest. The room rate was about 150$. The room was clean on first glance. But then we noticed the pots and pans had detergent residue on them.We had to clean each to use it. The dish cloths were almost brown .And the bedsheet had a big hole in it. the floor carpet was vaccummed but browned. It just felt unclean. I am sure such hotels go through heavy traffic and usage but this is was unbearable for the price we paid. I would not chose to stay here again! The staff however is very nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DcWatcher, Hotel Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
I recently received a copy of your review of the Homestead Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - Rockville. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We know that our guests have multiple hotel choices, which is why our mission is to provide clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price that guests want to come back to. The room condition you describe is totally unacceptable to me and not at all representative of our quality standards. In response to your post, I have met with our hotel staff and used your review to help coach them on room cleaning and inspection policy.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

I had just stayed at a disgustingly bad Homestead Suites in Pennsylvania and dreaded this stay after reading the reviews of this property. However... the sign on the building said that the place had been renovated, and it was true. The place was clean, except for my desk chair which had some suspicious stains, and amazingly, everything in the room worked. I could not set a wake-up call since no one at the front desk answered my phone call at 11 PM, but that wasn't a real problem. This would not be my first choice in this area, but I could stay here again with real problem.

  • Liked — Clean and good location
  • Disliked — No wake up service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville

Address: 2621 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites Washington-Gaithersburg-Rockville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Washington-Gaithersburg-Rockville Hotel Rockville
Homestead Studio Suites Rockville
Extended Stay America Rockville
Rockville Homestead Suites
Homestead Rockville
Homestead Suites Rockville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.