We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice with a few glitches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
14975 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Austin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice with a few glitches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here 10 days during our first family visit to DC. Overall, it was a good experience. The room was comfortable and clean, and the pool was indoors - nice for the kids.

The staff was hit or miss while we were there. The shuttle bus drivers were exceptional - always helpful, polite, personable, and full of good ideas. The front desk personnel weren't all well-trained and did not all know the area. NOTE: the hotel is 3 miles from the metro, and it's not really walkable!

Like the other reviewers, we enjoyed the breakfast as well as the evening "light dinner." The breakfast staff was really nice, but the woman who put out the evening food and was supposed to serve drinks to the adults acted frantic, put-upon if you requested a drink, and completely frazzled. A lot of the guests would line up at the kitchen door, knock loudly, and have to request a drink. She would pour the drink, but glare at all of us. When one family asked if they had Caesar dressing for the Caesar salad, and she said, "No. The blue cheese and vinaigrette are the only dressings we are going to serve this week." That made for a strange Caesar!

Overall, the value was good. Parking is free, and the shuttle drives you anywhere within 3 miles of the hotel. A Safeway is nearby, and the mall is also convenient.

Because we were visiting the monuments and museums in downtown DC, I recommend staying at the Homewood Suites in DC rather than this far out, though. If you have a meeting in Rockville or Gaithersburg, this is a good spot.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room next to the adjacent Hilton Garden on the weekend. The banquet room often host...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    50
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
107
26
9
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedalia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

this is a great place for a multiple day business trip - the rooms were roomy with a living area, kitchen facilities and free internet - the staff was friendly and the location was convenient to the businesses and hospital nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeoville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I took my grandchildren to DC, but chose to stay at this hotel. Service was great, especially the young lady who took care of the dinner. Rooms and common areas were very clean. Front desk extremely helpful regarding Metro and sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Really like the layout of this hotel, and the amenities. The rooms are very good sized, at a very reasonable price. Breakfast was a very nice upgrade from most hotels in this price range, although not nearly an Embassy Suites level. 2 complaints though-the hot tub was broken, and there was no sign they were making an attempt to fix that (moved my daughter into a new apartment and could have really used this). Biggest disappointment was a big party being held in the meeting room right on the other side of our wall that rocked past midnight. I know there wasn't much they could do, but didn't seem to make any attempt, or that they were that concerned. None of us got a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Away from the meeting rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Terrible Service and Room... No Electric .Maintenance Staff Never Came . Front Deck Didn't Care . Key Card System Didn't Work . Because the Key Card System Didn't Work, Staff Walked Me To My Room and Let Me In With His Pass Key.Never Received a Key To My Room. Only one A/C unit worked ......... TVs Didn't Worked . Bedroom Lights and Clock/Alarm Didn't Worked . Did Have Hot Water For A Shower and Lights in the bathroom did work .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We like the services here and it was a very nice hotel to stay around Washington DC area. We will stay here for next trip of Washington DC area and we will also suggest Homewood Suites to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Sean T,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Homewood Suites Rockville during your recent family trip to the D.C. area. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I'm very happy that you had an enjoyable experience. We greatly appreciate your recommendation, and certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back the next time you visit D.C. Thanks again, and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely hotel, great for business travel, when traveling alone, its nice to beable to share a communal meal, rather than dining alone in a restaurant. Room was quiet and comfortable, clean, and convienent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sarah L,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Homewood Suites Rockville! I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our lovely hotel with complimentary dining and our comfortable, clean, quiet suites. These are definitely a few of the many reasons our guests enjoy our property. Thank you again, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg

Address: 14975 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rockville
#1 Business Hotel in Rockville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton Rockville-Gaithersburg offers all the amenities of home, with the service that will make you want to return. Featuring 87 well-appointed guest suites, offering studio king, one bedroom king, 2 bedroom king, and 1 bedroom 2 queen bed suites, your sure to enjoy your time with us. Each stay includes our famous "Suite Start" breakfast offering a vast array of hot and cold nutritious options to start your day. We also offer complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius (7am-9pm), free high speed wireless internet access, room service, indoor heated pool and whirlpool, and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg Hotel Rockville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.