We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking Forward to Coming Back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
14975 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Piscataway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Looking Forward to Coming Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip. In addition to being close to the company headquarters, the hotel is also close to numerous restaurants and shopping centers. I got a room on the 6th floor. The room was close to the elevator and across the street from construction that was going on but I did not hear any noise from either. The suite was neat and clean. It came with a fully stocked kitchen (stocked with plates, etc. that is). The living room and bedroom were a little small but adequate. The bathroom was very small but it only had a toilet and shower - the sink was outside the bathroom. Everything was great. The bed was comfortable, the room was nice and the service was good. Only con was the food. I was informed that the hotel had dinner & breakfast for guests. Breakfast was OK but dinner was not all that great. I would suggest eating out. If you ask, the hotel has a list of restaurants in the area. For my next trip in town, this hotel would be my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear PrettyNJMomma,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Homewood Suites Rockville-Gaithersburg during your recent business trip. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, clean, fully stocked suites, and good service. I'm sorry that our food offerings did not exceed your expectations, but we appreciate the feedback and will certainly look into new ways to improve for your next visit to our hotel. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    40
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
93
24
9
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent stay. Clean, roomy, great meals, great shuttle to Metro, safe parking, well-maintained facilities, kids enjoyed game room, excellent/helpful staff. Beautiful room and lobby. Only complaints--difficulty with air conditioning too cold. Nice pool but only open til 9AM then closed til 5PM to 9PM.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Arthur V,

Thank you for considering the Homewood Suites Rockville your home away from home! I'm very happy to hear that you and your family had an pleasurable experience and enjoyed our clean, spacious suites, complimentary offerings such as breakfast, dinner, parking and shuttle service, kid's room and excellent staff. I'm sorry that you encountered some issues with the A/C and our pool hours, but we are always striving to deliver the ultimate service experience, and we will certainly address both items in order to improve. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, NJ, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel was new, clean and well appointed. It had a lot of ammenties: gym, internet, business center, breakfast included. The kitchen staff did a great job and they were really friendly. We would definitely stay there again. It was also centrally located so there is a lot to do, mall and about a 1/2 hour fr Georgetown & DC

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello Edward A,

Thank you for staying at the Homewood Suites Rockville during your recent trip to the D.C. area. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed clean property, convenient location and numerous amenities, a few reasons our guests continue to come back. Also, I appreciate your recognition of our kitchen staff, and I'm happy they took great care of you and your family. Thanks again, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area.

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, staff, accommodation for visiting Washington D.C. We have traveled around the world with 2 young children and this is simply the best hotel we have been. We had King-size Suite with pull out sofa. Pull-out is sufficient for two young kids. The room is spacious with high ceilings, and very clean. Ample room to live for a few weeks without feeling crammed in. Hotel staff from front desk to housekeeping are nothing but friendly. We arrived 1 hour early, and the front desk very quick accommodated us with the first available room. Other useful facts: Hotel has a shuttle that can take you to and from the Metro, you just have to ask ahead and reserve a time. The same shuttle will pick you up, if you call the front desk 3 stops before your metro arrives. The metro is about 5 - 10 min drive away, with $5 park and ride, and about 30 - 40 min to D.C. area stops. Parking is ample even on weekdays. Hotel has a hot breakfast (egg, sausage, hash-brown) plus the usual continental breakfast. On M-Th, the hotel offer light fare dinners before 7 pm (we were out visiting D.C.), that's a nice touch. The WIFI at this hotel is very high speed and high quality, enough for streaming video - way better than MOST hotels we've ever stayed in.

The ONLY strange thing about the hotel is the pool hours - 6 - 9 am in the morning and 5 to 10 at night. So if you are traveling with kids over the summer and the kids want to swim, you can't swim at all during 9 am (after breakfast) till 5. That's a very odd thing when compared to open-all-day pools at most hotels (like Holiday Day Inn). Often, on the check-in and check-out days, a family don't plan to go out and tour D.C., and the kids would like to swim a little. Few people/kids swim before breakfast or right after dinner.

Room Tip: Any room is very good and spacious here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Li_4Family,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent family trip to the D.C. area! We greatly appreciate your wonderful comments, and I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our spacious suites, complimentary transportation, food & beverage offerings, complimentary high-speed wi-fi and friendly staff. These are definitely a few of the many reasons our guests continue to return. I'm sorry that you found our pool hours to be inconvenient. We are always looking to improve our services and will certainly look into our pool hours moving forward. Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon. Have a great day!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivyland, PA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Excellent. Homewood Suites was the best of the Extended Stays in this area. I visited at least four additional stays in this area. It was the most expensive of them, but the additional money was well worth it for the amenities. With the tax being so high, 15% for the first 30 days, that was the only difficult thing. Not sure if that is a Maryland expense. Will definately use this hotel again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello Phillip S,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Homewood Suites Rockville-Gaithersburg during your recent long-term stay, and I'm very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience. For our extended stay guests who stay longer than 30 consecutive nights, you are reimbursed a large portion of the 15% tax for your entire stay. The tax reimbursement will be applied from the day of arrival once you have stayed over 30 nights. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was the first time that I stayed at a Homewood suites and I will definitely stay at one in the future. It is located in a nice suburban area with many paved walking trails within easy walking distance to playgrounds, nature paths, and a shopping center which includes restaurants and a grocery store. Breakfast is included every morning and dinner is included Monday through Thursday. Don't get too excited about the food, it's more along the line of cafeteria food but it can save you a lot of money when you're traveling. The room/suite was nice and clean. It had an actual thermostat on the wall which was much better than the typical A/C at hotels. It was so nice to have full fridge/freezer, microwave, dishwasher, stove and garbage disposal to use while being away from home. The kitchen had a coffee maker, dishes, rubbermaid "take alongs" for left overs, pot, pan, etc. There was a large flat screen TV that swivels to face the sofa/dinning area or to face the bed. The shower was a walk in (no tub, so you don't have to step over a tub side to get into the shower). The bed was pretty firm but that is typical of Hilton chains (but I'd stay at a Westin if all that I wanted a comfy bed). All the staff that I encountered were friendly and helpful. I used the pool which was indoors, warm and appeared to be clean. Overall, I was very pleased and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear NittanyLionLuv,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I'm very happy that you were pleased with your experience and that you enjoyed many of the amenities our hotel has to offer. The neighborhood where we are located certainly offers convenience to shopping, restaurants, playgrounds and some great trails for biking and running. Our complimentary breakfast and dinner certainly offer great value, and we will continue to work on our menu as we always want to improve and deliver delicious offerings. Our spacious suites definitely offer all the comforts of home, with full kitchen, living room and in-room technology. It's great you took advantage of our clean, heated indoor . I greatly appreciate your recognition of our staff, and I'm happy to hear that our team was friendly and helpful throughout your stay. Thank you again for your input, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Six Mile, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at Homewood Suites for a family wedding weekend because the groom had arranged a block of rooms for the event. We could not have been more pleased with the facilities, the services, the food, and the general atmosphere! Kudos to this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Carolyn M,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel, and I'm very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience while visiting for the wedding celebration! I'm that you enjoyed our food offerings, atmosphere and services, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg

Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg Hotel Rockville
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg Hotel
Address: 14975 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockville
#1 Family Hotel in Rockville
#1 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton Rockville-Gaithersburg offers all the amenities of home, with the service that will make you want to return. Featuring 87 well-appointed guest suites, offering studio king, one bedroom king, 2 bedroom king, and 1 bedroom 2 queen bed suites, your sure to enjoy your time with us. Each stay includes our famous "Suite Start" breakfast offering a vast array of hot and cold nutritious options to start your day. We also offer complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius (7am-9pm), free high speed wireless internet access, room service, indoor heated pool and whirlpool, and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.