We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
14975 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Great New Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel and I hope that it is not my last. The hotel was new so everything was clean and fresh. The staff was wonderful. I was upgraded to a room with a fireplace, whcih was a nice bonus. THe hotel was quiet and located near a lot of good places to eat.. I am beginnig to like Homewood Suites more and more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hello Kidflemingo,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Homewood Suites Rockville-Gaithersburg. I'm very happy to hear that this will not be your last stay at our hotel, and I'm glad that you found our property to be clean and fresh. I appreciate your recognition of our wonderful staff, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again, and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    64
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
137
38
12
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valhalla, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hotel was clean. We had breafast every morning and they changed a few things each day which was nice. My grandkids enjoyed the indoor pool each afternoon. Pool was not open during the day but we were out enjoying Washington DC and when we got back to the hotel we enjoyed the pool. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hello Barbara B,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Homewood Suites Rockville-Gaithersburg. I'm very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and that you were able to enjoy our breakfast and pool. I'm also glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked a two bedroom suite two months in advance for a family occasion. There are six of us including my son who is confined to a wheelchair. My in-laws also booked a studio suite. I called a week before to confirm our room. At 3:30pm the DAY BEFORE WE WERE ARRIVING, I receive a call from an assistant manager, Ms.Kahn. She stated to me that the hotel overbooked and we do not have a room. She then attempted to make it like she was helping me by trying to find us a room at another hotel. I was livid. I received no answer from this woman as to how an "overbooking" could happen since I booked the room two months in advance. I explained to her that we had a handicapped son and need a two bedroom suite which is the reason I book so far in advance. After going round and round in circles with this woman, i hung up and called the Hotel manager, Mike Anderson. Mr.Anderson assured us that we had a room and was professional. Upon arrival at the hotel the next day, we were not sure what to expect. We arrived early because we were sight seeing that day with our in laws who had already checked in the night before. We were greeted by a nice hotel staff member who immediately went to find Mr.Anderson. Mr.Anderson was kind and professional and apologetic. He stated to me that it was an oversight on Ms.Kahn's part and apologized for her. We went out for the day and arrived about 5pm to check in. I noticed that they had the room rate wrong (too high) so the hotel desk clerk called assistant manager Ms.Kahn to look at it. Ms.Kahn fixed the rate to what i booked it at but never offered an apology for calling us the day before and putting us through that stress. In fact when I questioned her about it, she said it was not her fault. I told her Mr.Anderson said otherwise. She was the only reason I did not give this hotel five stars. She was unprofessional, unapologetic and clueless and should not be a manager of any kind. All the hotel staff were professional, besides her, which includes Mike Anderson, the maintenance staff, the kind woman who serviced our room, the lifeguard who assisted my son in the pool with the lift and especially Kevin. Kevin was there when I checked out and was extremely apologetic and discounted our stay for the unnecessary stress. Thanks Kevin!
Overall, this Hotel is quite nice. It is in a safe area with shopping and dining within a few miles. The lobby is nice and breakfast was plentiful. I would definitely stay here again, if Ms.Kahn was not employed there. Sorry, but i'ts an honest review.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hello rmguardino,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Homewood Suites Rockville-Gaithersburg. I apologize for the issues that you experienced the day before your arrival, but I'm glad you found our hotel staff and lifeguards to be professional. Our well-appointed lobby, convenient location and plentiful complimentary breakfast are a few of the reasons our guests continue to come back, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the Rockville area.

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was quite comfortable, staff were efficient and friendly, and the wine in the evening was decent. The shuttle drivers were friendly and punctual. I had no trouble getting on the Internet. It did seem to rely on satellite tv, though, and several times the image appeared to freeze for a few seconds my second day. It was odd because the weather was clear and calm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hello Cindy M,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Homewood Suites Rockville-Gaithersburg. I'm very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. Our friendly staff, weekday evening reception and complimentary shuttle are a few of the many reasons our guests continue to return. I'm sorry our TV system froze while you were here, and yes, we do have satellite TV in our hotel that provides a home-like TV experience. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Rockville area.

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was more than adequate. One thing to note, is that the pool temperature felt a little chilly and it is not open during the day on weekdays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hello Homewood Suites Traveler,

Thank you for staying at the Homewood Suites Rockville-Gaithersburg, and I'm very happy that you had an enjoyable stay. Our helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms and plentiful breakfast offerings are a few of the many reasons our guests continue to stay with us. I'm sorry that the pool was a little chilly, and we will be sure to continue to monitor a comfortable temperature for our guests to enjoy. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Thanks again, and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights and kept commenting how much we enjoyed this hotel. It was in a nice, safe area, and the hotel felt fresh and new (the front desk manager said the hotel was 3 years old, as of 3/13). We loved having a fridge and microwave (and plates and utensils) in the room, and the entire space felt spacious and clean.

Starbucks and other restaurants just around the corner. Whole Foods about 8 minutes away. We ended up getting food from Whole Foods and eating dinner in our hotel one night, since we had the microwave (and there is an oven and stove, too) to heat things up.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, and other than hearing some vacuuming in the morning, it was extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Lorie,

Thank you for your comments regarding your time here at the Homewood Suites Rockville-Gaithersburg. I am very pleased to see both you and your husband enjoyed your time at our property, and appreciate you sharing your experience with the world! Many of our guests are suprised to find that our suites incorporate every aspect of home (full refrigerator and microwave, cookware, flatware, silverware, glasses, etc) with the service that allows you to enjoy your time away. Our location, adjacent to the Fallsgrove Complex with over 26 restaurants and shops, as well as within a quick drive of some of the best shopping in the nation, gives our guests copious options for any free time they have while visiting.

Thank you for your time, as well as your feedback. Have a fantastic spring, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Rockville-Gaithersburg area!

Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We selected this hotel to stay for the duration of children's festival which took place in Washington DC as well as Potomac, MD from March 15 - 17, 2013. We traveled as a group from Brooklyn, NY as 8 families where 5 stayed at the hotel. Since I have my Hilton Honors Diamond Membership, I reserved 1 room for my family and two rooms for fellow participants.
Great hotel - very friendly and helpful staff (allowed kids to rehearse a day before festival as well as provided us with space for a small celebration, after)- rooms were clean and comfortable - free wifi - free breakfast was above average with good selection of food. Kids enjoyed pool as well as kids play room which is not common in a chain of Hilton Hotels.
Everyone was wonderful - highly recommend the hotel. Good location too!
Everyone was very pleased!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear garreglardan,

Thank you for your comments, and for choosing the Homewood Suites Rockville-Gaithersburg as the host hotel for the Russian Theatre Festival. I am pleased to see not only you, but your entire group enjoyed their stay. It was truly our pleasure to serve you. I will also be sure to share your comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff, as well as our wonderful daily Suite Start breakfast with our entire hotel team.

It was also great to see your group was able to take advantage of our Kids Room located on the lower level of the hotel. This is a great amenity unique to our property, that can truly make a difference for our young guests as well as their parents!

Thank you again for your time and feedback, and I hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg

Address: 14975 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#1 Family Hotel in Rockville
#1 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton Rockville-Gaithersburg offers all the amenities of home, with the service that will make you want to return. Featuring 87 well-appointed guest suites, offering studio king, one bedroom king, 2 bedroom king, and 1 bedroom 2 queen bed suites, your sure to enjoy your time with us. Each stay includes our famous "Suite Start" breakfast offering a vast array of hot and cold nutritious options to start your day. We also offer complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius (7am-9pm), free high speed wireless internet access, room service, indoor heated pool and whirlpool, and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg Hotel Rockville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.