We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14975 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lacey, Washington
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Can't wait to stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this property over the summer after wearing out our stand-by whenever we come back to this area (my hometown). We picked this property as we've had a lot of success with the newer Homewood properties as they are always clean, comfortable and spacious.

Check-in/Location
I am very picky when it comes to where my hotel room is located. I stay in hotels 60-75 nights a year and always try and stay away from an elevator on a high floor away from the highway. They did a great job here. The good news with this property is that a lot of the rooms face the parking lot or the back and commercial office buildings. If you do face the road, it would most likely be Shady Grove Rd., not a highway, but can get a bit noisy. I think the adjoining hotel probably has more rooms facing that side. Although my parents live a bit closer to Falls Rd., we always stay on this side of Rockville since it's generally very safe and there is a lot to do right near the hotel. Literally 2 blocks away you have a great little shopping center with a Safeway (grocery store), restaurants (Jerry's Pizza, Moby Dicks, Cheeburger Cheeburger, Chipotle, etc.), Starbucks, bank, etc. There is a hospital right across the street and a huge entertainment complex (The Rio) 2 miles or so away that has a movie theater, a ton of restaurants, a nice lake to walk around, Kohl's, Target, Dicks Sporting Goods, etc. It is very easy to get to I-270 which will connect you to the various highways around DC/MD/VA. The Rockville or Shady Grove metro stations are within 10 minutes.

Rooms
Compared to where we used to stay, these rooms are beautiful. As someone in an earlier review mentioned, this is a green hotel, so you need to make sure your keycard is inserted into a special slot on the wall for the HVAC and some of the lights to work. I think this is a great system, as it prevents someone leaving lights on all day and wasting electricity. The room would be very comfortable for anyone having an extended stay as there are regular sized appliances in the room. They even give you paper towels and dish soap! There is a nice sofa and flat screen in the living room, and we had beautiful long windows to look out at the woods.

The beds were very comfortable and enjoyed having another TV in the bedroom. This is a "real" suites hotel, as there is a door between the bedroom and living room. The lines were very clean and they had different types of pillows available. Alarm clock worked fine and the iron and ironing board were clean. I enjoyed the vanity type bathroom, as it enables two people to get ready at the same time if you've got someone in the shower. Bathroom was clean and towels were fine.

My only complaint is the Wi-Fi. It was absolutely dreadful. It worked once, but the signal was incredibly low. We had a tablet with us, which we know has worked before and again, did work once or twice, but was really bad reception and kept dropping off. This would be my one area of improvement as they really need to ensure that folks on the higher floors have a better signal and can stay connected.

Overall
This is our new choice when visiting the area and excited to give it another go for Thanksgiving. The free breakfast and evening reception is a great touch and the rooms are an ample size for a two person crew. Room was comfortable and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear RedHeadGo,

Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites Rockville-Gaithersburg, on your trip to the Rockville area. I also wanted to thank you for such detail, time, and effort in constructing a informative and helpful review for future and prospective guests of our property. I did notice that both you and your husband will be returning to the area, and did want to make you aware that we are working towards a solution to add additional wireless bandwith to all of our suites. I look forward to seeing you again on future trips to our property, and thank you again for your valued feedback.

Yours in Hospitality,
Michael Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    66
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
145
40
12
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

My family and i always try to stay at Homewood Suites whenever we are away, because we like the full set of amenities that they provide. This hotel was very clean and welcoming. The room was spacious and we like to use the kitchen area so that we can prepare our own foods and enjoy family stlyle dinners in the room. I liked the rustic artwork in the lobby area as well as the oversized chairs for reading. The hotel is a little off the beaten track but a nice shopping district is a block away .The breakfast was very tasty and it was a full breakfast of scrambled egss ,sausage, and waffles. I loved my stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Grandmaster,

Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites Rockville-Gaithersburg on your recent trip to the local area. We appreciate your recognition of our unique decor' throughout our hotel lobby, as well as the quality of our complimentary breakfast. Our staff takes great pride in the overall experience they provide to each of our valued guests, and we are glad to hear of your positive experience while with us.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback, and we hope to see you again on future trips to the Rockville area.

Yours in Hospitality,
Michael Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Hotel is very clean and staff is very friendly. Kudos to Jasmine, Jeff & Bridgett & Leslie. You've really made my long-term stay enjoyable. My only gripe is the fitness center. Another machine or two would be perfect : ) . I highly recommend this hotel! -Cliff

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Cliff J,

Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites Rockville-Gaithersburg on your recent trip to the local area. Your recognition of our team members is greatly appreciated, and will be shared with the hotel staff. As an extended stay property, we value the relationships we build with our long term guests, and are glad to see we were able to create a positive experience for you during your time with us. We would be pleased to be your "home away from home" if you eve return to the local area.

Thank you again for your business and feedback, and we hope to see you again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Michael Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed at the Homewood Suites the weekend of Labor Day. We were going to drive to the metro station and travel to Arlington Cemetery before checking in, but the drive down to Rockville was a rainy one. We decided to swing by the hotel to see if the room may be ready. It was and this was before 12 pm. From check in to check out, we never had a problem. The staff at this hotel are great! The 1 bedroom king suite was very clean. The complimentary breakfast was more than most hotels. Pancakes, sausage, waffles, eggs, cereal, pastires., etc. Each morning was a bit different.
The indoor pool, hot tub and gym were spottless. The hotel is approx., a mile away from the metro. Comp. shuttle will take you there.
We ate at an awesome rest. on Shady Grove Rd., "That' Amore" Authentic Ita. rest. and the food was incredible.
HUGE tip. Check out the Washingtonian Center just over a mile from the hotel. It is a huge manmade lakefront dining, shopping and entertainment center. Joes Crab Shack was great. Nice area to get many pics. Washingtonin Center has a web site to check all that is there. For sure if we were in the are again, we would stay at this hotel. Thanks to all the staff!!!

Room Tip: We alwaY suggest a high floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Brian03,

Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites Rockville-Gaithersburg on your recent trip to the area. Reading your feedback, I was glad to see you were able to enjoy our complimentary full hot buffet breakfast . I was also pleased to see our complimentary daily shuttle service was able to provide you with the convenience and flexibility to explore attractions and activities in the local area.

Thank you again for your valued feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Rockville area.

Yours in Hospitality,
Michael Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We ended up looking for a last minute hotel because Hurricane Irene cancelled our planned vacation to Virginia beach. We had previously had a great experience with the Homewood Suites in Orlando in the spring, so we chose this hotel which is near my niece in Md. The staff let us check in early which was very nice because Grandma was in a wheelchair and we didn't want to hang out too long in the lobby. The room was spacious and clean. Kitchen/bathroom were spotless. Cleaning staff was friendly and gave us extra towels. Kids enjoyed the pool. Free breakfast was basic- eggs, sausage, potatoes- and the grits were good (but we're from NYC, so what do we know?!). We asked for late checkout- and they gave us that too! We will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Coco_nyc2,

Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites Rockville-Gaithersburg on your recent trip to the local area. While we were dissapointed to hear of your cancelled vacation to Virginia Beach, we are pleased you selected to weather Hurrican Irene with us. Our goal is to provide the best possible accomodations and guest experience for each of our valued travelers. We were glad to see we were able to accomplish our goal during your most recent trip.

Thank you for your business, and we hope to see you again on future trips to the Rockville area.

Yours in Hospitality,
Michael Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Great family hotel! Plenty of space, 2 TV's, free kids room, nice pool, good breakfast! I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Only stayed one night, but could have stayed there for a whole week.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Jesaia,

I wanted to reach out and thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay here at the Homewood Suites Rockville-Gaithersburg. Reading your comments, I was pleased to hear you were able to enjoy some of the many ammenities we offer here on property. Thank you again for your time and feedback, and we hope to see you on future trips to the Rockville area.

Yours in Hospitality,
Michael Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz In Rome
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in August. The suite is spacious and clean. Kitchen is well equipped. The breakfast and evening reception were very good. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is next to a shopping centre, but far from metro. The shuttle service was good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear J_in_Rome,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Homewood Suites Rockville-Gaithersburg. I'm very glad to hear that enjoyed our clean, spacious suites and our complimentary breakfast and evening reception. It is always our commitment to provide our guests with friendly service, and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg

Address: 14975 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#1 Family Hotel in Rockville
#1 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton Rockville-Gaithersburg offers all the amenities of home, with the service that will make you want to return. Featuring 87 well-appointed guest suites, offering studio king, one bedroom king, 2 bedroom king, and 1 bedroom 2 queen bed suites, your sure to enjoy your time with us. Each stay includes our famous "Suite Start" breakfast offering a vast array of hot and cold nutritious options to start your day. We also offer complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius (7am-9pm), free high speed wireless internet access, room service, indoor heated pool and whirlpool, and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg Hotel Rockville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.