We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Go Ape!

Go Ape!
6129 Needwood Lake Drive, Rockville, MD 20855
+1 800-971-8271
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Rockville
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It’s not in the dictionary, but if it was, Go Ape would be described as a ‘tree top adventure’.That means we build giant obstacle courses up in the trees using ladders, walkways, bridges and tunnels made of wood, rope and super-strong wire, and top it all off with the world's best zip lines.We then equip people with harnesses, pulleys and carabiners, give them a 30 minute safety briefing and training and let them loose into the forest canopy, free to swing through the trees. Of course, instructors are always on hand, regularly patrolling the forests (not in monkey suits unfortunately!)The result is spectacular. The Go Ape experience gets the adrenalin pumping, gets people out of their comfort zones and above all (no pun intended), it’s just great fun.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I went here last week with a friend at 9am. After filling the the paperwork, we were met with our host who put us through a quick safety course. It was very informative and easy to learn. There were five teenagers in the group we were put together with, but our host kindly told my friend and I that we would be able to get in front of them since it was just the two of us.

After the safety course, we were off on our adventure! 6 courses, 6 zip lines. The obstacles were so much fun to go through, but by far the Tarzan swing being my favorite! Some obstacles were difficult, and at times gave you the option of taking the easy route out, or go the the hard way. But after the obstacles, there was the zip-line; the reward after hard work.

I can't say enough how much fun we had for those 2-3 hours. Best of all, you were completely on your own, it felt great having so much freedom. I would definitely recommend this place, and come here again!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    7
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Myself my daughter and my son had the most fantastic time at The Forest of Dean Go Ape.
Amazing zip wires Tarzan jumps Tree tops activities.Jo our safety Officer she was very thorough and a delightful girl.I would certainly recommend going .We will go again for sure .

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This attraction, by far, is one of the best short adventures I have been on. Myself and the family had no idea what we were getting into, My daughter, afraid of heights, had a wonderful time. My husband, a retired military man found it challenging but fun and my grandson 14, had a experience to tell when he returns home. Two and a half hours of going from tree to tree climbing swinging, zip lining, mazes and all kinds of in the trees apparatus. HIGH in the trees. Exciting, fun and a little scary. We even crossed a road and could look down and see the cars, The instructors let us be, but was always there if we got in a tough position, And they were GREAT! I felt the addrinalin as I climbed the trees and attached myself to zip lines. WOW....For mountain climbers, no big deal....for those of us that want a little adventure...THE BEST. We are going to do it again...and take a few friends with us. Better than an amusement park if you ask me....Ok the down side is......uhh.... you need upper body strength and good legs for climbing, OH and when you zip-line down, which you will do several time, use your butt.....less pressures on the knees :)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun afternoon adventure, for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I went to GoApe for a bit of weekend fun and exercise, expecting only ziplines. We were pleasantly surprised by the variety of crossings and obstacles (the Tarzan Swing and the crossing with the rings were my two favorites). Some bits require a tad more fitness than others, but overall I'd say most adults can handle the exertion.

The location is in idyllic Rock Creek Park, and is conveniently close to the Rio Center theatres and restaurants for a movie afterwards.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The kids loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I took my 10 and 13 year olds on a weekday morning. Great time to go, with only 3 other people on the course. Instructions were thorough even my 10 yr old felt ready for the course after the orientation. We had a great time and loved the entire course!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Ape! also viewed

 

Been to Go Ape!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Go Ape!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.