We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adult and kid fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course

Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course
6129 Needwood Lake Drive, Rockville, MD 20855
+1 800-971-8271
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Rockville
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: It’s not in the dictionary, but if it was, Go Ape would be described as a ‘tree top adventure’.That means we build giant obstacle courses up in the trees using ladders, walkways, bridges and tunnels made of wood, rope and super-strong wire, and top it all off with the world's best zip lines.We then equip people with harnesses, pulleys and carabiners, give them a 30 minute safety briefing and training and let them loose into the forest canopy, free to swing through the trees. Of course, instructors are always on hand, regularly patrolling the forests (not in monkey suits unfortunately!)The result is spectacular. The Go Ape experience gets the adrenalin pumping, gets people out of their comfort zones and above all (no pun intended), it’s just great fun.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Adult and kid fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We had an AWESOME time and would definitely go back. Staff was knowledgable and friendly. Keep in mind that the staff doesn't stay with you, so safety is #1

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    7
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great way to spend time with my kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was at least 20 years older than everyone I met here. Wondered what I had gotten myself into. But I had a great time. We moved through quickly. Never had to wait more than a couple of minutes at each platform. Not strenuous but a little sore the next day. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place and adventure with kids. Well worth the time and money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went with kids and all had a good time doing obstacles and zip lines. Great way to built confidence in young adults while having fun. Hours of fun... terrific place and well run.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
“Great gift idea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had a great experience-- staff is energetic & friendly. They train you and then you are off on your own (with some supervision). Definitely recommend to people looking for a few hours of adventure!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Activity!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have been ziplining twice, but neither of those times included a high ropes obstacle course or me securing myself to the ziplines. The ziplines, themselves, are not that high or long, but the obstacle course makes up for it. You climb high trees, cross crazy wooden bridges and swinging logs, and complete tarzan jumps into a net rope. You definitely get an arm workout in! They also have a skateboard zip which is really unique at the end. There is a skateboard on a zipline below you, so you actually stand for the first half of the zip and then zip regular the other half - it is pretty cool. The only thing I would recommend is going when it is a little warmer out. It is was in the 40's when we went and it was COLD and windy up in the trees, which was not always comfortable. Also, you do EVERYTHING by yourself. There is no staff attaching and detaching you from the ziplines, so safety really is #1 on this adventure. I don't think I have ever concentrated and triple checked my lines as much as I did during this course. Overall, two thumbs up; great activity; would DEFINITELY go again!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course also viewed

 

Been to Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.