We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blast for any age... even Tarzan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course

Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course
6129 Needwood Lake Drive, Rockville, MD 20855
1-800-971-8271
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Rockville
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: It’s not in the dictionary, but if it was, Go Ape would be described as a ‘tree top adventure’.That means we build giant obstacle courses up in the trees using ladders, walkways, bridges and tunnels made of wood, rope and super-strong wire, and top it all off with the world's best zip lines.We then equip people with harnesses, pulleys and carabiners, give them a 30 minute safety briefing and training and let them loose into the forest canopy, free to swing through the trees. Of course, instructors are always on hand, regularly patrolling the forests (not in monkey suits unfortunately!)The result is spectacular. The Go Ape experience gets the adrenalin pumping, gets people out of their comfort zones and above all (no pun intended), it’s just great fun.
DC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A blast for any age... even Tarzan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Took my niece and her friends here for her 16th birthday. Other than the long instruction, we all had a blast. The instruction was necessary since safety is a priority especially when you are Tarzan of the jungle. Highly recommend wearing comfortable clothes and tennis shoes. Lots of climbing so make sure your body is stretched before you climb. The course is not vigorous at all but you do need to be in some shape to climb and be able to pull your own weight. One last thing, make sure you use the bathroom before you're strapped in and have fun.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    7
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Endicott, New York
1 review
“Amazing Adventure!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were visiting my brother in DC and after looking for something to do, we found Go Ape. It was easy to get to and easy to find. The staff was excellent- very pleasant, informative. The training was great. We didn't have to wait long for each zip line or obstacle- even though it was very crowded that day. We took lots of pictures and videos and we have tons of great memories of that day. We always wanted to do an adventure course and we were so happy we found Go Ape!! We hope to bring our family back there soon to show them what a great time it is- definitely recommend this adventure!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Zip lines galore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I spent part of the day at Go Ape on a Saturday in November. We were originally looking for some place to go on zip lines and had never heard of Go Ape. They have zip lines and a lot more--Tarzan swings anyone?
We easily made reservations on line. I would definitely allot 3 hours for the whole experience. You start out with some safety lessons from one of the Go Ape guides (And you are very safe. You're normally hooked up to at least two safety lines.) Then you're on your own to move through 6 different sections in the trees. Friendly Go Ape Guides are wondering around if you need help or have questions. We got some friendly tips from a guide on how not to end up dragging our butts in the wood chips coming in on a zip line. My last zip line was my best!
It looked like anyone in your group not actually participating could still walk the course under the trees and snap pictures.
This would be a great side trip for those visiting or living in DC or even Baltimore.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“SO MUCH FUN, Right in Rockville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A hidden treasure!! I eneded up here on a living social package- ziplinning and beer tasting. It was a BLAST!! There is six acres of fun here, the staff is helpful and friendly.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent advanture...skateboarding 40 feet in the air REALLY!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I found Go Ape Adventure in Rockville, MD to be one of the best adventure things I've done in a long time. The instructors were fabulous, patient and super nice. When they said you will be skateboarding 40 feet in the air, they weren't joking. The course design is outstanding . I WILL be BACK!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course also viewed

 

Been to Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.