We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT TIME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course

Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course
6129 Needwood Lake Drive, Rockville, MD 20855
+1 800-971-8271
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It’s not in the dictionary, but if it was, Go Ape would be described as a ‘tree top adventure’.That means we build giant obstacle courses up in the trees using ladders, walkways, bridges and tunnels made of wood, rope and super-strong wire, and top it all off with the world's best zip lines.We then equip people with harnesses, pulleys and carabiners, give them a 30 minute safety briefing and training and let them loose into the forest canopy, free to swing through the trees. Of course, instructors are always on hand, regularly patrolling the forests (not in monkey suits unfortunately!)The result is spectacular. The Go Ape experience gets the adrenalin pumping, gets people out of their comfort zones and above all (no pun intended), it’s just great fun.
toms brook
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

its was a great time !!! instructers are great and very helpfull (thanks for the encouragment jon)
i'm scared of heights but i felt very safe and complety informed about what to do. Stay attatched.
we will be back!!

Visited September 2012
Thank Col_homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“All the positive reviews are true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a great time at Go Ape. The staff is great, the course is challenging and fun. All the positive reviews mentioned in previous reviews are true.

Visited July 2012
1 Thank NextstopNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GoApe is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Very fun and safe adventure! Had lots if fun! You have to make reservations to get your place, which is ok with me! :-). I am actually going again tomorrow!

They also have Military, Fure, and Police discounts which always makes me happy to see at any establishment!

A "must do" if you are visiting!!! :-)

Thank rmurphy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon's activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We took two 50+ adults and two active teenage girls here for an afternoon and had a wonderful time. Great, thoughtful instruction, then a fabulously challenging trek through the trees. Not for the faint-hearted, and more strenuous than you might think, but a terrific family experience. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Definitely recommended - and scary in all the right places....

Visited September 2012
1 Thank MinusThirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roebling, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Huge dissappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I planned on stopping here on our way back to New Jersey from a weekend trip in DC. While we did not make reservations, we did see on the website that reservations were being accepted at 8:30, 9:30 and 10:30 a.m. and that tours left every half an hour. We even checked the website the night before just to make sure. We got to Go Ape! just before 10:30 and there was no staff there... I tried to call the 1-800 number on the pamphlet, but the number was not working. Shortly after someone showed up; he told us that the first safety tour was not leaving until 11:30, that takes half an hour, and then the approx 2 hours on the ropes course. Waiting that long would have not been feasible for us as we had to be back in Jersey by 5 p.m. It was a huge disappointment since we drove out of our way to go, and what actually happened wasn't what the website said.
I highly suggest you make reservations and plan on this being a LONG day.

Visited August 2012
1 Thank misstink1785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan D, Guest Relations Manager at Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your review and feedback. We’re sorry to hear that you were unable to Go Ape as planned. We always recommend making a reservation ahead of time in order to avoid disappointment as we cannot guarantee availability for walkbys. While the early morning sessions may have been open the night before, we block these sessions if no one books on in order to better schedule our staff and run more efficiently. Our daily schedule is dictated by our reservations and not by a set time for opening and closing the course; we apologize for this inconvenience. In regards to the 1.800 number not working, this is a known problem that we are actively addressing. Our call center was a 1.888 number but many of our guests were dialing 1.800 and being connected to another company that is not Go Ape, or finding the number did not work at all. We just changed to a new number, 1.800.971.8271 to eliminate any confusion, and our old 1.888 number is still active. We hope you’ll consider visiting Go Ape in the future. Please feel free to contact us at info@goape.com with any further concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course also viewed


Been to Go Ape Treetop Adventure Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing