We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little too "green"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14975 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A little too "green"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel during a trip to visit family. Wonderfully clean and updated. Friendly front desk staff. This is a "green" hotel. You need to insert your key in a wall holder to get the lights and TV. This means you can't leave lights on when you leave the room. This would make me nervous if I was traveling as a single women and returning to my room at night. Also, the temperature in the room wouldn't go above 75 and I was cold unless I was in bed. I sleep well in a cold room so I slept well, but the rest of the time I was chilled. I would return to this hotel again if I was traveling with someone else.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Betsy W,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Rockville during your recent trip to visit family in the area! We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean and updated hotel and friendly front desk staff. I certainly understand your concern for safety regarding our in-room green technology, but the entrance light and bathroom lights are not connected to the key system for that reason as safety is our utmost responsibility for all of our guests. I'm sorry that we did not communicate that to you, but the system is designed to ensure guests can turn on a light before having to use the key card. Also, I'm sorry that you were cold unless in bed. We strive to ensure maximum comfort for every guest, and I apologize that your room was chilly. Thank you so much again for your feedback, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    74
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
66
54
16
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I usually try to stay in a Hilton brand when I travel for business. You know what to expect and the location of this particular hotel was perfect for me, right on Shady Grove road.

I happen to be a light sleeper, so I requested a room away from the elevator and main road. I got a room directly off the elevator facing Shady Grove. I went back down and asked if they could move me, and they did (very quickly) put me a few rooms down further from the elevator, but still facing the main road. The road noise wasn't nearly as bad as the heater kicking on every 15 minutes, even after I turned it down.

There is a lot nearby if you have the time - lots of restaurants in the Rio plaza as well as Fallsgrove. Rio also has shopping and a movie theater. I ate in the hotel (burger) and it was actually pretty good. It was about 8pm and they were out of a lot of stuff at that point, but there were plenty of choices.

The room has a microwave and fridge. The hotel has the bar, 24-hr pantry, fitness room, pool, but I didn't use them. Breakfast starts at 6 so you are out of luck if you have an early start.

I would probably stay here again but would have to insist for a quieter room.

Room Tip: Only six floors, so you can't be too high up, but low floors may have street noise if you face S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear svsp,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the HGI Rockville during your recent business trip to the area! We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I'm sorry that we were unable to provide a room that was further from the elevator and away from Shady Grove Road. Also, I apologize for the noise of the air unit. We strive to provide the most comfortable, quiet environment possible so our guests can get the rest that they expect and deserve. I apologize that we did not provide maximum comfort during this stay, but please let me know when you will be staying again, as we are happy to accommodate your room location preference. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and that you found our restaurant to be good. Thank you again for your feedback. We appreciate your loyalty to Hilton, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting Rockville!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This room blew us away! Just expecting a comfortable king bed, but ended up with a suite, 2 bathrooms, 2 plasma TVs, and a jacuzzi tub besides a regular shower! Wet bar, as well as a towel "swan!" Felt very pampered!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hello Ray E,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the HGI Rockville, and we greatly appreciate your feedback! I'm very happy to hear that your room blew you away, and that you enjoyed our spacious jacuzzi suite. It;s great to hear that you felt pampered and that our housekeeping team personalized your towel arrangement. Thank you again for your feedback, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

What a great time we had at the HGI, Shady Grove. The front desk staff kept the lobby tables full of delicious coffee and snacks while we all waited out a 7" snow storm. The rooms are lovely, the beds are comfy, and the location is right off Rockville Pike where everything is located.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Y5222ZLlindam,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Rockville for a weekend getaway, and during our recent snow storm! We appreciate your feedback, and I'm very happy to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed our lovely rooms, comfy beds and convenient location. Also, it's great to hear that our team kept coffee and snacks full while that snow came down! Thank you again, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

It was a great location for getting to worksite & airport. It has everything you need so once you are there you have no need to leave. Beautifully decorated and clean. There was shuttle service to nearby locations. Staff was very accommodating, helpful and genuinely interested in being helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Leslye R,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the HGI Rockville during your recent business trip to the area! We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I'm very happy to hear that you found our hotel to be a one stop location for everything you need! I'm glad that you enjoyed our beautiful, clean hotel and complimentary shuttle service. Also, I appreciate your recognition of our helpful, accommodating staff. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I went to Bethesda for the weekend and found this place on Expedia. Very clean spacious room with all basic amenities. The full breakfast downstairs was fantastic ($11 per person) - employees were great and helpful.

It's located near a busy road that is surrounded by strip malls so, as long as you are not looking for a scenic place, this is a great choice! I'll go back again!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear travelpro1918,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the HGI Rockville during your recent trip to the area! We appreciate your feedback, and I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, our fantastic breakfast and helpful employees. These are definitely a few of the many reasons our guests continue to return, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again, and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Every thing was GREAT! We had a wonderful time. My kids and there friends loved the pool, hot tub and the game room! The only thing that was not good was the bed. I did not have a good night sleep. So my husband and I were sad because with everything going so great we just new that we would have a great bed too, but that was not the case.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsgroveteam, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Nicole S,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the HGI Rockville during your recent visit with the family! I'm very happy to hear you found everything to be great! It's great you were able to enjoy the pool, hot tub and kids room. I'm sorry that you found our beds to be uncomfortable, causing a poor sleeping experience. Our adjustable beds are designed to all our guests to choose their comfort level, and I'm really sorry that you and your husband did not get a good rest. We hope you will still consider us for a future stay with your family, as we certainly would like the opportunity to welcome you back. Thanks again, and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Michael Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg

Address: 14975 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#1 Green Hotel in Rockville
#2 Family Hotel in Rockville
#5 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Rockville-Gaithersburg is the premier business and leisure hotel in the Rockville-Gaithersburg area. Offering full service accommodations including daily shuttle service, room service, corporate and social meeting space, full service restaurant offering mid-scale dining with breakfast and dinner selections, complimentary high speed wireless and LAN internet service, indoor heated pool, whirlpool, and 24 hour fitness center, with a designated children's room offering games and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Rockville-Gaithersburg Hotel Rockville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Rockville - Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.