We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and Atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Addie's Restaurant - CLOSED

Addie's Restaurant
Rockville Pike, Rockville, MD
(301) 881-0081
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food and Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Always a great meal-you know it will be fresh and well prepared. Lovely house-cozy-outside is good, too-along the PIke-can be noisy but there is a tent so that helps! This is great for a celebration or special dinner for two or close friends. Love the homemade soups especially!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    45
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Many tasty dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Limited options for outdoor seating on a beautiful night led us to Addies. Although your view isn't great (either the parking lot or the street), the restaurant itself is charming. I had the beet salad and the whole fish. Both were tasty. My colleague enjoyed his meal, as well. Oh...and Tuesday night is half price bottle of wine night. A pleasant surprise. Definitely will have to try it again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Rockville, MD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Addie's doesn't look like the kind of place where you can get creative and eclectic American dishes. But it really is. Virtually everything we ordered was excellent, including beautifully prepared soft shell crabs (I'm a sucker for them). First courses that were particular good were a gazpacho made with melon (it works) and mussels. The desserts are good, but not particularly unusual. One thing I appreciated was a reasonably priced wine list (and a server who actually was knowledgeable about the list). There may be fancier restaurants, but this is the sort of place you feel comfortable returning to again and again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Food, Cramped Quarters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We dine at Addie's on average three times a year. The food is always good and well prepared. The service is well above average. A small but adequate wine list features less well known but very good wines. Because of the nature of the house, when seated indoors I always feel cramped; try to arrange for outdoor seating. The noise level depends on the luck of the draw; it can be quiet and enjoyable if the other diners are respectful of others; but because of the close quarters it can be difficult to hear your table companions if other diners are not so respectful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“OK..if you like flying bugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Ate there and shared the meal with 30+ flying black bugs. Sat outside but that never happens elsewhere. Then the Chef refused to split the 2 entrees my friend and I opted to split to check out a variety. Both the pasta & the steak sat on spinach...so there was little variety anyway as far as flavor. My friend threatened to leave and suddenly they were willing to cut the steak in half instead of making the customer do it at the table. Not someplace we would return to which is a shame as the location is convenient to both of us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addie's Restaurant also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addie's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.