We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently very good but was noisy this time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Addie's Restaurant - CLOSED

Addie's Restaurant
Rockville Pike, Rockville, MD
(301) 881-0081
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Potomac
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently very good but was noisy this time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I've been there at least five times and have always considered it a dining experience rather than just a place to eat. Fresh ingredients are important to them and you can taste it. Service has always been very good also. Last night we went with another couple and three tables away was a loud threesome. Noise really carries in their main small room and it simply was hard to hear. The mussels were outstanding and the swordfish was very good as was the vegetable pairing which came with it. Luckily the noisy couple left soon afterwards. When my wife and I pay over $150 in a restaurant the noise level has to be considered part of the meal which is why I can't rate it as excellent

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    29
    45
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Used to be my hands down favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

not as good on last two visits. great burger, mussels, deessert is usually worth the calories. Kitchen seems to be slipping a little in terms of presentation and caring service. Still like it...but no raves this time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A gem where you least expect it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Visiting fellow publishers near the Medical Center in Bethesda, and we went to this place which is in a house along a busy road. The interior is bright and cheery, and the staff friendly and efficient. I was expecting Good, but not particularly exciting American classics, but was pleasantly surprised by an interesting menu. I had the special soup which was a modern twist on borschcht with cabbages, but extremely tasty. I had the special pulled pork-type sandwich, which was also excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“GOOD THINGS COME IN SMALL PACKAGES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This small restaurant has a lovely atmosphere. It is small, which means that it can be a bit noisy, but the feeling is one of warmth and coziness. The menu has steak, hamburger, several fish options, pork and a pasta dish. Ther appetizers are also very interesting . This is very good American cooking. We found the staff to be very attentive, always filling our water, coke, etc. They explained the dishes and offered helpful suggestions. There is no liquor, only wine.
Be sure to make reservations, as the space is not huge and the restaurant was full. I have only been for dinner, but others say lunch is also a very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good food, very good service, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This restaurant is located on the Rockville Pike in a small, nicely-decorated house. The ambiance is intimate and comfortable. The service is very prompt and very efficient (I would have preferred it to have been a little bit more friendly).

We dined on a Tuesday night and were pleasantly surprised to find out that bottles of wine were half-priced. We drank a delightful bottle of Malbec for only $20. My wife and I shared a Caesar salad, which was very tasty with a fair amount of shaved parmesan, toasted croutons and very fresh white anchovies. My wife ordered the roasted chicken (with polenta and leeks), while I ordered the sautéed trout (with Yukon gold potato gallette, egg salad, smoked trout roe, and grilled scallions). We both felt that the sides were very good and a little bit out of the ordinary. However, we also felt that the chicken and trout were a little bit on the bland side.

All in all, I'd say that it's a good place to eat, because of the ambiance and side dishes, and because the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addie's Restaurant also viewed

 
Rockville, MD
Rockville, MD
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addie's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.