We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Rockville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Brasa

La Brasa
12401 Parklawn Drive, Rockville, MD 20852
301 468.8850
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 353 Restaurants in Rockville
Cuisines: Salvadoran
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Rockville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great food in a family restaurant. Everyone is so nice and friendly. And the prices are cheap. What else can we ask? I can't count how many times we went. We recommended to so many people, nobody was disappointed. Chicken is delicious. I recommend to try fajitas, lomo saltado or bistec encebollado, my favorites. Don't forget also the tres leche as dessert, succulent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“empty but great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

went on a thursday night at 7 pm and only 2 other couples in there. Wonderful fresh guacamole with good selection of latin american /mexican mix type food. Was not brave enough to try the beef tongue but the shrimp dish and the combo tamale enchilada dish was good. Service was good as well. not fancy but good food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“My new favorite place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Selected La Brasa after reading favorable reviews. We were not disappointed! The place only seats about 40 people and is not fancy, but we loved it. The meals were delicious (salmon and lomo saltado). Everything was fresh, hot, and presented very nicely. Portions were generous and they happily substituted sides since we shy away from too many carbs. Two meals and a bottle of wine cost about $40. The entire staff was extremely pleasant and friendly. Service was great. This place will be a regular stop in the future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Good food and great staff!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a hidden gem in Rockville. The food is great. Only downside is that the drink menu is just wine but the food is so good that it is ok!!!Love it. the staff is very good as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food - Great Prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I eat regularly at this restaurant, even though we live about 50 miles away. The food is always well prepared, has great taste and is provided in very generous portions. Service is prompt, courteous and correct. Prices are very easy on the budget and the value provided for the price paid is outstanding.

Please don't expect fancy furniture and a "snazzy " local - this is a working class restaurant that provides great tasting and quality food at a very decent prize with good service and a nice family atmosphere.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Brasa also viewed

 

Been to La Brasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Brasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.