We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Consistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontina Grille

Fontina Grille
801 Pleasant Dr, Rockville, MD 20850-5830
301-947-5400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fontina Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 333 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Clarksburg, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Fontina Grille is always consistent. The portions are large, the prices are affordable and the food is always very good. It is a safe bet for pretty much any occasion. Thinking back it was the site of my husband and my first date, the dinner we introduced our parents to each other, and is great for a stop in lunch or dinner or a night out with our young nieces and nephews. It does, like most places, get busy on weekend evenings. They'll even let you bring your dog and sit outside during months when outdoor seating is an option.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    45
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Italian food in Rockville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

this restaurant is a little gem tucked away in the King farm area of Rockville, Maryland. The food is excellent, the portions generous and the prices are very reasonable. The service is very attentive.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Happy hr from 4-7 w $5 apps included. $13.99 got us a soda, salad(w homemade dressing) our meal w good portion, n small dessert. Both of our meals were cooked to perfection n the free bread w dipping sauce was amazing. Beer is cold, the mixed drink was good n waitress was knowledgable. Salmon w pasta was best meal i ever had n my boyfriend had chicken marsala. I had many there tell me pizza is a fave there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
209 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Fontina Grille is in the Kings Farm development so a very nice, new, planned community setting just off 355/Rockville Pike. It offers a lovely outdoor dining area, quite a large bar scene and a rather casual dining area. There was a wide range of entrees - from pizza to pasta to meat/seafood. I had the salmon after reading some of the reviews and asking our server for a recommendation. The salmon was top notch and had kind of a crispiness on the outside which I liked. It was served on a spaghetti, spinach, chopped tomato combo - the spaghetti was so-so with a colorless sauce of some kind - not much flavor but the vegetables were tasty. This comes with either a house or Caesar salad; I got the house salad but thought the Caesar looked like a better option. My husband liked his pasta Bolognese very well. Prices were decent and our service was excellent (unlike other reviews I saw!). We were seated without a wait at 7 p.m. on a weekday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It had been over a year we dined at fontina. Must admit..pleasantly surprised. We asked for outside seating on a pleasant August evening. Nestled in the king farm urban community the ambiance was pleasant. Service was perfect. We selected the portobello and the calamari apps.they were the size of entrees. Calamari ceciliano.. cooked in a light sauce with Italian sausage, not your typical fried..the portobellos were a very pleasant stir fry with a nice array of flavors. Our entrees ..Rockish crusted with pistachios..tons of fresh lightly steamed veggies, ..seared tuna salad..perfectly done tuna, nice salad but soy dressing a bit on the salty side .
A nice selection of drinks and wines..the bar was busy ..nice to see a local happening place with healthy,tasty selections.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontina Grille also viewed

 
Rockville, MD
 

Been to Fontina Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontina Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.