We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“military orders for 3 weeks-stay at crowne plaza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
venice italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“military orders for 3 weeks-stay at crowne plaza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed at Crowne Plaza Rockland DC. The staff was wonderful and the shuttle drivers-ALAN, SEAN AND PEDRO? WERE ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL...I highly recommend this hotel. Food a bit pricey but clean/quiet.

Room Tip: any room not near kids is great...i had a room towards end of my trip and the kids made it difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
First and foremost we thank you for your service to our country! Thanks so much for you review, rest assured I will pass your comments along to our team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    70
    33
    24
    21
See reviews for
48
38
23
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta USA
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Room sizes good, but no microwave, no mini fridge, no laundry - small restaurant and little bar in the wall. Not good when staying with a soccer team. No character or charm in this hotel at all. the gym was good.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are so sorry we did not meet your expectations upon arrival to your room. Because we do not have refrigerators and microwaves in the room, we do have several refrigerator that we can take to the guest room upon request and a microwave is always available in the corner Shoppe adjacent to front desk. Please not that we do have suites that does equip refrigerators and microwave. Apparently this was not relayed well during your visit and for that I truly apologize. I do appreciate your comments and hope that next time you are in Rockville you will give our hotel another chance, we would love to have you back!

I hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!

Best,

Amit P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I recently stayed the work week at the Crowne Plaza, and found the most excellent customer service and I travel every week and have met a lot of guest service representatives, but none like Himani. She is awesome~ This is a Great place to stay. They make their guests feel as if they matter. I was truly impressed. If you travel to different cities every week, and stay in different hotels as I do... When you find one like this,.. it's truly refreshing, Made my week So much better !
Will always come back here when we travel in this area!
JLA

Green Features: Himani is truly the best Guest Services Rep I've ever met. She truly makes a difference. I travel every week, and wish all hotel representatives were just like Her !
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thanks for your kind review of our hotel.
Hopefully we'll see you again in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stated Crowne Plaza Hotel through a reservation made it Priceline. The first night at the hotel I was unable to sleep because the air conditioning unit was so loud. I asked the next day about the loud airconditioner and ask to have my room changed. I was told that the engineer would check it out. Later I was told that the engineer said there's absolutely nothing wrong with the air-conditioner that sounded like an idling 18 wheeler. The room was not cleaned-when I asked about it I was told that the rooms were cleaned every other day. The glasses in my room were never changed. The coffee cup in my room was never changed. Vacuuming was random at best. Went to the restaurant 40 minutes after it was supposedly opened for dinner, and had to go to
The front desk to request service. Because of my Priceline reservation I had to get manager because permission to change my reservation which he
denied. Bad experience- poor customer service

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. We rely on our guests, to know how we are doing and how we can better meet their needs.

We at Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville aim to consistently achieve highest level of Guest satisfaction through quality services and hospitality.

Please be assured that your comments have been seriously reviewed with all department heads concerned and all possible corrective actions are in place to address the issue.

I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. All of us here sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again and provide you the true Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville experience expected from us on your next visit to Rockville.

Best,

Amit P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Spacious room, good mattress, wimpy pillows, desk OK except for only one power outlet available (and none by the bed), good AC.

Good bathroom space, with generous counter, good shower and light, OK towels.

Good access to I-270.

Negatives: need to log in to wifi at least twice per day, insufficient power outlets, poorly laid out parking, maid should be more diligent (didn't clean area under generous counter).

Green Features: Great, did not cripple the AC with motion sensor so the room was kept at the temperature I set.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Love the hotel & rooms. Spacious. comfortable and neatly appointed. Really love the staff: Earl, Himani, Maxime, Riz, Vannessa, Abdu et al can't do enough to make you feel welcome and your stay enjoyable.Beds have lots of large comfy pillows. Plenty of lights in the rooms, which many hotels lack.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the outside as a quieter option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I just spent three nights at the CP- Rockville. It was a wonderful stay! The food was very good with many selections that were reasonably priced. The room (actually a very large suite) was right off the lobby but surprisingly very quiet. All of the staff were exceptionally helpful. The shuttle waits were only minutes leaving the hotel and about 15-20 minute waits at the Metro station. The drivers on all of the trips were personable and very helpful. The only issue, and I hesitate to mention this because it was not a huge deal but it happened repeatedly, was that whenever I called Room Service, I could not get through. They usually called me back within about 10 minutes but it was something I have seldom, if ever experienced in any hotel.
I would not hesitate to book at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Very quiet on ground floor, right off of lobby and bedroom window facing the front of hotel.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has a policy about changing linens. They are GreenLeaders.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rockville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#6 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Near Shady Grove Metro Station Offers a Suburban Retreat If you're looking for an affordable, upscale hotel in Rockville, MD, be sure to stay at the Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville MD. Our 100% smoke free hotel is conveniently located on I-270 and is just a short drive from Washington D.C. Business travelers will appreciate our close proximity to businesses, including DHHS, Shady Grove Adventist Hospital, Johns Hopkins University, the University of Maryland, Lockheed Martin and IBM. Leisure guests will find our Rockville accommodations offer quick access to the White House, Sugar Loaf Mountain Winery, the Strathmore Music Center and both the Lakeforest and Montgomery Malls. The Crowne Plaza Washington D.C - Rockville, MD is 'The Place to Meet'. Our premium Rockville hotel facilities include over 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Our spacious meeting rooms are perfect for conferences as well as special occasions or social events. Guests can choose from the Remington Ballroom, the lovely Terrace or one of our six breakout meeting rooms. This upscale Rockville hotel provides the best in hospitality and amenities. You can enjoy a Health Club with a yoga studio, free high-speed Internet access and fine dining in our restaurant with room service. For the very best in Washington D.C. accommodations, choose the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Rockville, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rockville
Rockville Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.